Meet This Author: Lori Wilde

Q: What themes can be found in your latest release, Second Chance Christmas? As the title suggests, the main theme is second chances, but there’s also a strong theme of redemption running throughout the book. Q: How would you describe the heroine?Quirky Jana is tough as nails but has a heart of gold that she’s afraid to... Continue Reading →

Guest Post from Author Karen Schaler

https://www.karenschaler.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/10/Karen-Schaler-Headshot-310px-TINY.jpg Writer of Netflix Hit A Christmas Prince Karen Schaler shares her holiday survival tipsinspired by her latest Hallmark Christmas movie Christmas Camp and her new novelFinding Christmas. Ready or not, Christmas movie marathons are starting up earlier than ever this year, evenbefore Halloween. The same thing is happening in stores across the country where... Continue Reading →

Meet This Author: Karen Schaler

How did you get your nickname “Christmas Karen?” After I wrote my first movie, the Netflix original ‘A Christmas Prince’ that became an instant holiday hit with two sequels, I went on to write three more Christmas movies for Hallmark and Lifetime, and three Christmas books for HarperCollins Publishers in 18 months. I also trademarked... Continue Reading →

Review: Yappy Hour by Diana Orgain

Synopsis: Someone’s been barking up the wrong barstool in this uncannily enjoyable new canine mystery series from USA Today Bestselling author Diana Orgain! Every Friday night in the idyllic seaside town of Pacific Cove, California, the Roundup Crew, a group of dog-friendly folks, have a spirited meet-up at their local wine bar. But when the... Continue Reading →

Review: Oware Mosaic

Synopsis: Decades after a cataclysmic nuclear war, Ghanaian scientists develop technology that store consciousness onto data orbs called retcons. Seventeen-year-old forensic specialist, Feeni Xo, is a Enhuman (a radiation-enhanced metabolic human) that, similar to a vampire, need blood for sustenance. Through a game called the House of Oware, Feeni discovers that the virtual construct is... Continue Reading →

Meet This Author: Mad About You by Mhairi McFarlane

Q: When did you decide to write novels? Around turning 30, I was working at the local newspaper and starting to itch for a bigger challenge, but I knew that national journalism didn't really interest me either. After playing around with a Bridget Jones spoof for an advertising supplement, something clicked, and I realized I wanted... Continue Reading →

Book Review: Fault Tolerance by Valerie Valdes

Synopsis: From the author of the critically acclaimed Prime Deceptions and Chilling Effect, the hilarious new novel about the adventures of Captain Eva Innocente and the crew of La Sirena Negra. Nothing wrecks Captain Eva Innocente's vacation plans quite like an anonymous threat to vaporize billions of people. Hundreds of monoliths have suddenly materialized in space, broadcasting the same... Continue Reading →

Review: Edge of Dusk by Colleen Coble

Synopsis: Even though secrets lie off the coast of Rock Harbor, the truth will set Annie Pederson free—if it doesn’t kill her first. Nine-year-old Annie Pederson’s life changed the night her sister was kidnapped. The two had been outside playing on a dock, and Annie never forgave herself for her role in her sister’s disappearance.... Continue Reading →

Review: The Lost and Found Girl by Maisey Yates

Synopsis: "Yates packs an emotional punch with this masterful, multilayered contemporary…pitch-perfect plotting and carefully crafted characters make for a story that’s sure to linger in readers’ minds.” —Publishers Weekly New York Times bestselling author Maisey Yates dazzles with this powerful novel of sisterhood, secrets and how far you’d go to protect someone you love… Ruby McKee... Continue Reading →

Review: Second Glance by Jodi Picoult

Synopsis: When odd, supernatural events plague the town of Comtosook, a ghost hunter is hired by the developer to help convince the residents that there's nothing spiritual about the property. An intricate tale of love, haunting memories, and renewal. (An interview about the book is included below the reading guide). "Sometimes I wonder....Can a ghost... Continue Reading →

Review: I Take You by Eliza Kennedy

Synopsis: Meet Lily Wilder: New Yorker, lawyer extraordinaire, blushing bride. And totally incapable of being faithful to one man.Lily’s fiancé Will is a brilliant, handsome archaeologist. Lily is sassy, impulsive, fond of a good drink (or five) and has no business getting married. Lily likes Will, but does she love him? Will loves Lily, but... Continue Reading →

Review: Blindsighted by Karin Slaughter

Synopsis: A small Georgia town erupts in panic when a young college professor is found brutally mutilated in the local diner. But it's only when town pediatrician and coroner Sara Linton does the autopsy that the full extent of the killer's twisted work becomes clear. Sara's ex-husband, police chief Jeffrey Tolliver, leads the investigation—a trail... Continue Reading →

Review: Critical Alliance by Elizabeth Goddard

Synopsis: Mackenzie Hanson's special set of skills opened the door to a successful career as a professor of cybersecurity at a Michigan university, allowing her to put her criminal past behind her. But when a long-ago partner in crime delivers a cryptic message about her father's tech company being under cyberattack, she heads for Montana... Continue Reading →

Review: Our Trespasses by Michael Cordell

Synopsis: Drowning in a meaningless existence flipping burgers, Matthew Davis suddenly collapses from a powerful psychic connection he shares with his twin brother, Jake. The pain is violent and immediate, and Matt knows exactly what it means… hundreds of miles away, Jake has been viciously killed. But instead of severing their connection, the murder intensifies... Continue Reading →

Review: Welcome to the Neighborhood by Lisa Roe

Synopsis: A heartwarming and life-affirming story of family dynamics, mother/daughter relationships, and second chances—perfect for fans of Maria Semple and Abbi Waxman.After years of struggling to make ends meet, Queens single mom Ginny falls for sweet, divorced Jeff, and relishes the idea of moving with her quirky eleven-year-old daughter Harri to his home in an... Continue Reading →

Review: Mystic River by Dennis Lehane

Synopsis: This New York Times bestseller from Dennis Lehane is a gripping, unnerving psychological thriller about the effects of a savage killing on three former friends in a tightly knit, blue-collar Boston neighborhood.When they were children, Sean Devine, Jimmy Marcus, and Dave Boyle were friends. But then a strange car pulled up to their street. One boy... Continue Reading →

Review: Tear Down the Throne

Synopsis: Bestselling author Jennifer Estep continues her Gargoyle Queen epic fantasy series where magic reigns, alliances are tested, and a dangerous attraction could tear down a throne. . .Crown princess. Clever spy. Powerful mind magier. Gemma Ripley of Andvari is all those things--and determined to stop an enemy from using magical tearstone weapons to conquer... Continue Reading →

Review: The Honeymoon Cottage

Synopsis: From New York Times bestseller Lori Foster, an all-new romantic family saga for fans of Jill Shalvis, Lori Wilde, and Sarah Morgan. In The Honeymoon Cottage, locals of a quirky small town help an on-the-shelf wedding planner find her own happily-ever-after. Wedding planner Yardley Belanger has resigned herself to spinsterhood while organizing other people’s happy endings. An all-new heartwarming story... Continue Reading →

Review: Death Warrant

Synopsis: Death Makes Great TV. Frankie Percival is cashing in her chips. To save her brother from financial ruin, Frankie—a single stage performer and mentalist who never made it big—agrees to be assassinated on the most popular television show on the planet: Death Warrant. Once she signs her life away, her memory is wiped clean of... Continue Reading →

Review: My Best Genealogy Tips-Quick Keys to Research Ancestry

Synopsis: My Best Genealogy Tips: Quick Keys to Research Ancestry will assist beginners and researchers who feel they need to start over. This is the first in a series of books that will walk you through getting an oral history interview, using historical records rather than family trees for proving research, and making sure you... Continue Reading →

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: