Review: The Lie

 

Synopsis:

This was no accident…Haunting, compelling, this psychological thriller will have you hooked. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Daughter.

I know your name’s not really Jane Hughes …Jane Hughes has a loving partner, a job in an animal sanctuary and a tiny cottage in rural Wales. She’s happier than she’s ever been but her life is a lie. Jane Hughes does not really exist. Five years earlier Jane and her then best friends went on holiday but what should have been the trip of a lifetime rapidly descended into a nightmare that claimed the lives of two of the women. Jane has tried to put the past behind her but someone knows the truth about what happened. Someone who won’t stop until they’ve destroyed Jane and everything she loves …

Rating: 5 stars

Review:

The Lie by C. L. Taylor is brilliantly told. This novel reminds me of the famous TV program called Pretty Little Liars. Both have a deep and haunting past that comes back to scare them in the present. Another similarity between the two is that the group of friends may look like they are super close to another but in reality they are much further than that think. Friends should know everything about each other…yet there are secrets that have been kept and someone knows. As with my favorite drama and suspenseful program, this too brings out a dark psychological tale that swallowed me whole. I never knew what to expect. The talented writer kept me guessing with every page. The Lie is indeed a perfect title for this stunning story. Readers will be captivated by the danger, drama, and the unknown factors that kept me on the edge of my seat. Dark, intense, and superb. I loved reading this fast-paced plot that kept switching between the past and present…exactly like my favorite show. C.L. Taylor’s novel, The Lie, has now become my new favorite read. I look forward to reading more by this writer. Overall, I highly recommend this juicy compelling read to readers everywhere.

 

Advertisements