Author Interview with D.H. Gibbs

Author Interview with D.H. Gibbs

D.H. Gibbs

 

ULM: How have your travels inspired you when writing and illustrating books?

DHG: Experiencing different cultures and seeing new places can always create a spark that leads to a wildfire for my imagination. Seeing a new beach or architectural structure may increase my desire to include it in a story or draw it. I may even mentally take it apart and create my own concept.

ULM: When did you first begin to write stories?

DHG: Writing stories began for me back in High school, or what we in the Caribbean call, Secondary school. Where my friends and I would write fan fiction about our favorite TV shows including ourselves into the story. It was a lot of fun getting to meet your favorite character even if it was only on paper.

ULM: Can you share with readers what your journey was like in creating the characters featured in Nika?

DHG: Creating these characters has been an eye opener as I truly believe that each character shows a different part of who I am. It was kind of perturbing to see parts of yourself on paper exposed to the world.

ULM: Is there a particular author or illustrator who inspires you?

DHG: All art inspires me. Be it renaissance art, Matte painting in movies, minimalist work or video games. As a creative, I can always find inspiration in them. As for authors that I look to? That would have to be Shakespeare, Enid Blyton, Carolyn Keene and Harper Lee just to name a few.

ULM: Where can readers find you and your work?

DHG: Readers can find me on social media,

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/seychatkaseries
Twitter @dhgibbsauthor
Website: http://www.dhgibbs.com

My books are available on Amazon and Barns and Nobles I plan to put it up on some additional sites soon so look out for those.

ULM: What three words would you use to describe your protagonist? And antagonist?

DHG: Protagonist – Determined, Caring, Family-oriented
Antagonist – Conniving, Heartbroken, Power-hungry

ULM: Can you share with us, readers, what inspired you to write your debut novel, Nika?

DHG: Nika was a story that developed from another story I had. She kept rattling around in my head adding new parts and evolving. Eventually, when I got to a point where I felt the need to have a career that I loved, not just one I liked but something that I’m really passionate about, I decided to write it down. One thing led to another and here we are.

ULM: What new books are you currently working on?

DHG: I am currently working on Seychatka 2 (Title pending) as well as 2 other children’s books and a contemporary story that has been stalking me. I know so many stories so little time. lol

 

Nika: A Seychatka Novella

D.H. Gibbs

http://www.dhgibbs.com
http://www.facebook.com/DHGibbskids
http://www.facebook.com/seychatkaseries

