Review: Killmore


Synopsis:

Amazon Best-Selling Author

You know how they say the enemy of your enemy is your friend? Well, I’m still determining if there’s any truth to that statement.
I was used by the Feds to report on the dealings of Antonio Herrera – the major Mexican crime lord since his uncle passed, leaving everything to Antonio. I knew everything about Antonio’s business. How, you ask? I was the only woman he kept close, really close – he claimed he loved me. You get to see and hear a lot of interesting things when you hold that kind of status.
Now, the Feds have me in what they claim is witness protection. However, I never feel safe knowing he’s out there. My family thinks I’m dead. All the while, I keep to myself, avoid most people in my new hometown and train rigorously everyday–waiting for the time when the devil comes calling for his debt to be paid.

Rating 5 stars

Review:

Killmore by Martha Sweeney…is completely different than her other novels. I was susrprised. Yet, right away, the main character sucked me into the book. The leading female character has a way with her personality that draws readers to her like bees to honey. No matter how strong a front she puts out…people like her. Both fictional and non-fictional. Her journey was one that proves believable. She did what any woman wanting survive do..but it wasn’t enough. She wakes up in protective custody. The bad guy is still lurking out there…and one day he will come after her. She lives each each in peparations for that fatal day. Fear, maybe. Just knows it’s going to happen. Martha Sweeney has caught the attention of women who have been in abusive relationships and how their lives spiral out of control. I feel the frustrations, anger, and resentment deep inside the character. The waiting adds such an intensity to this novel. Then, there’s her way of pushing others away.  Like the male doctor who would be good for her. But due to men’s treatments towards her, she only wants the sex part. If they can’t handle that, nothing else is going to happen. A tough, determined, and intelligent woman who fights each day. It’s not easy. Killmore is full of action, intrigue, and suspense. There is romance woven into the tale. Readers will open this up, and never look back. This was an exciting journey, and I loved each moment of it. Martha Sweeney has once again, captured my attention with her latest novel. Her character has caught me, too. Overall, I highly recommend Killmore to readers everywhere. 

