Review: Tea Planter’s Wife 



Synopsis:

#1 International bestselling novel set in 1920s Ceylon, about a young English woman who marries a charming tea plantation owner and widower, only to discover he’s keeping terrible secrets about his past, including what happened to his first wife, that lead to devastating consequences.

Rating: 5-stars

Review:

The Tea Planter’s Wife by Dinah Jefferies is a captivating read. A historical that sucks readers straight into its world. I was mesmerized by the tale. From the beginning, I liked the main character. A young woman who marries a man and leaves everything behind her. The story weaves an emotional journey that dragged me deeply into it. Frustrating, sad, and mysterious. Dinah Jefferies has woven a book that will hook readers into the life of her novel. A time in history when things were so much simplier yet harder. Marriage life is portrayed as something that is like a rough sea. Both terrifying and rocky. Giving birth to a baby, usually makes a marriage more cemented. Yet, this marriage felt like it was spiraling deeper and further apart. Every page kept me lured. I was so intrigued and wondered what would happen next. A mystery surrounding Lawerence’s first wife creates a hostile and intense environment throughout the tale. Gwen is a female character that all could sympathize with and love. She brings a softness to the tale’s rough edges. Darkness creeps around the couple and holds fast onto the, squeezing out the happiness and only leaving painful memories behind. The Tea Planter’s Wife is bold, engaging, and rich. I loved reading it. This was a historical novel, I won’t be forgetting…the memory of it shall linger in my mind forever. Overall, I recommend this stunning well-written story to all. 

