Review: Flora Lively and the Murder at Maples



Synopsis:

Meet feisty new amateur sleuth Flora Lively in the first of her cozy mystery adventures …

When twenty-nine-year-old Flora Lively loses both of her parents and inherits the family business, she tries hard to make a success of her father’s dream – even at the expense of her own dreams. Burdened with Marshall, her father’s handpicked American manager, Flora finds solace in her friendship with Joy, an elderly client, she helped move into the Maples, the local retirement community. 
But when strange and dangerous things begin to happen at the Maples, Flora finds herself plunged headfirst into a web of betrayal, intrigue and deceit. Convinced a murderer is preying on helpless residents, Flora is forced to conduct a private murder investigation. But can she solve the puzzle in time, or will the murderer strike again?
Murder at the Maples is a cozy English village mystery, ideal for readers who love cozy reads with romance and humor, and British mysteries on Kindle.
Rating: 5-stars

Review:

Flora Lively and the Murder at the Maples is amazing. Hilarious and offers an adventure readers will love. I fell in love with this story instantly. Joanne Phillips has created a laugh-out-loud mystery. Then, there’s a murder to solve before it’s too late. The main character, Flora Lively, is about my age. Just a year older. I can easily relate to herfear of heights. I remember going on rides with my baby sister because she had no one else to go with her. Unfortunately, she didn’t care if I was scared. Reminded me of the opening scenes with Flora Lively and the elderly woman she cares about…Joy. Joy is not one’s typical 80-year-old. She’s bold, daring, and strong. Her sense of humor and way living life to the fullest was entertaining. She tries to get Flora to live a little. Once again, I felt another connection with the sleuth.

 I love murder mysteries. This book, has it all. Danger, excitement, and intrigue. Death, investigation, and some romance. I was surprised how fast the reading went by…before I knew it, I was finished. Murder at the Maples is easy to read. Flora Lively is fun to follow along as the story unfolds. She’s intelligent and caring. Plus, going all the way out to solve a murder definitely puts her on my adventurous list. So, in a way, Flora can also be bold and daring like her friend, Joy. Joanne Phillips writes extremely well. Her characters are fully developed and peak my interest. I want to read more books featuring the sleuth, Flora Lively. Overall, I highly recommend this cozy mystery to readers everywhere.

