Review: Dead Men Do Tell Tales: The Strange and Fascinating Cases of a Forensic Anthropologist

818675

Synopsis:

From a skeleton, a skull, a mere fragment of burnt thighbone, prominent forensic anthropologist Dr. William Maples can deduce the age, gender, and ethnicity of a murder victim, the manner in which the person was dispatched, and, ultimately, the identity of the killer.  In Dead Men Do Tell Tales, Dr. Maples revisits his strangest, most interesting, and most horrific investigations, from the baffling cases of conquistador Francisco Pizarro and Vietnam MIAs to the mysterious deaths of President Zachary Taylor and the family of Czar Nicholas II.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Review:

Dead Men Do Tell Tales, by William R. Maples, Ph.D., is a really great book for anyone even remotely interested in anthropology. If you’re simply a fan of the show, Bones, it won’t be an easy or fun read. I received this book as a Christmas Gift because I’m a big fan of the show. The book is very interesting, just not what I was expecting. Still, for anyone who has more an interest than that, it’s a fabulous book. It has great anecdotes and descriptions. The problem was the terminology. There were a lot of words that I didn’t really know what they meant since I’ve never studied anthropology, and I’m not a fan of keeping a dictionary next to me in case I need it while reading. That makes it less fun to read.

Even with all that, I would recommend this book. Just make sure you know what you’re getting into before committing to it!

