Review: 13 Days of Midnight

13 Days of Midnight

Synopsis: 

In a devilishly dark and funny debut, a teen finds himself the unwitting beneficiary of eight enslaved and angry ghosts seeking bloody vengeance.

When Luke Manchett’s estranged father dies unexpectedly, he leaves his son a dark inheritance: a collection of eight restless spirits, known as his Host, who want revenge for their long enslavement. Once they figure out that Luke has no clue how to manage them, they become increasingly belligerent, and eventually mutiny. Halloween (the night when ghosts reach the height of their power) is fast approaching, and Luke knows his Host is planning something far more trick than treat. Armed with only his father’s indecipherable notes, a locked copy of The Book of Eight, and help from school outcast Elza Moss, Luke has just thirteen days to uncover the closely guarded secrets of black magic and send his unquiet spirits to their eternal rest—or join their ghostly ranks himself.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Review:

13 Days of Midnight, by Leo Hunt, was really good. I mean it. The plot was great, the characters were interesting and easy to relate to, and it was even an original idea. I’ve never read a book like this before and it was intriguing to read about. The writing was good, too; I only found a couple errors while reading. Which, if you’re familiar with my reviews, there are always an excessive amount of errors in the books I read. So, that was awesome from the start.

Still, I had some expectations for this book that weren’t met. For one, the book title doesn’t make sense. There is absolutely no tie into the story. There was nothing about 13 days of Midnight at all, so I have no idea what the title was supposed to mean. The book did go through 13 different days, but there’s no mention of why it’s titled “13 days of Midnight”. I don’t get it, and it’s bothering me since it isn’t clear.

My other beef with this book is how boring it is. The plot isn’t slow or bad, it’s great. I, honestly, can’t put my finger on what the problem was and that’s bugging the crap out of me, too. The pacing was okay, but I think that was part of it. Every event passed by rather slowly. I was, also, really distracted by the fact every chapter but two (there are only eight chapters in the whole book) are excessively long. I’m talking an average of 40 pages per chapter. So, I had a hard time staying in the world of the book when I couldn’t help but wonder when the stupid chapter was going to finally end. I’m not sure if shortening the chapters would have helped, though. Each chapter had portions where time would skip so there were plenty of opportunities to cut everything into pieces, and each one gave me time to refocus on what I was reading. I was still bored. It grinds my gears that I can’t put my finger on what it was that’s missing from the book, but it’s something.

I still recommend this book. The characters are interesting, and so is the story. It might be a little boring, but it’s a good read. I’m glad I had the opportunity to read it, and I hope you do, too. That way, we can talk about what’s missing!

