Review: It Started with Goodbye

 

 

 

 

 

Synopsis:

Sixteen-year-old Tatum Elsea is bracing for the worst summer of her life. After being falsely accused of a crime, she’s stuck under stepmother-imposed house arrest and her BFF’s gone ghost. Tatum fills her newfound free time with community service by day and working at her covert graphic design business at night, which includes trading emails with a cute cello-playing client. If Tatum is reading his emails right, her virtual Prince Charming is funny, smart, and talented—and he seems to think the same about her. Too bad he’s spending his summer across the ocean in Ireland…not that Tatum would be allowed to go on a date anyway.

But over the course of the summer, Tatum will learn that sometimes going after what you want means breaking all the rules. And when Tatum discovers she’s not the only one in the house keeping secrets, she finds she has the chance to make amends with her family and friends. Equipped with a new perspective, and assisted by her feisty step-abuela-slash-fairy-godmother, Tatum is ready to start fresh and maybe even get her happy ending along the way. A modern play on the Cinderella story arc, Christina June’s IT STARTED WITH GOODBYE will appeal to fans of Sarah Dessen, Stephanie Perkins, and Jennifer E. Smith.

Rating: 4-stars

Review:

It Started with Goodbye is an interesting summer read. The book blurb caught my attention. I instantly wanted to know more. Christina June has created a  fun YA novel. A promise of excitement just beyond my reach. It starts with a false arrest, trouble with BFFs, and a possible romance. The main character was easy to relate with…having once been a teenager. I loved that this story felt real. Teens go through epic emotional journeys. It surprises me how much energy they spend on certain situations. Here, I was surrounded by secrets, suspense, and mystery. Wasn’t sure what was going to happen next. Strong life issues were brought up throughout the book. They were done in an entertaining fashion. Never a dull moment.  Christina June laced her novel with  humor, love, and happiness. It Started with Goodbye felt too good to be true. Yet it was good. Better than good. Full of sweetness.  Overall, I recommend this clean read to both adults and teens alike.

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s