Review: Asking for Truffle

Synopsis:

When Charity Penn receives a letter saying she won a trip to Camellia Beach, South Carolina complete with free cooking lessons at the town’s seaside chocolate shop, The Chocolate Box, she’s immediately skeptical. She never entered any contest. Her former prep school friend offers to look into the phony prize–only to end up drowned in a vat of chocolate. Struck with guilt, Penn heads to the southern beach town to investigate why he was killed. But as wary as she is of the locals, she finds herself lured into their eccentric vibe, letting her defenses melt away and even learning the art of crafting delicious chocolates. That is, until delight turns bittersweet as she steps straight into the midst of a deadly plot to destroy the seaside town. Now, only Penn’s quick thinking and a mysterious cask of rare chocolate can save the town she’s learning to love. Rich and decadent, Asking for Truffle, the first in a new cozy series by Dorothy St. James, is sure to be a delectable read for fans of JoAnna Carl and Joanne Fluke.

Rating: 5-stars

Review:

Asking for Truffle by Dorothy St. James is an exciting cozy mystery. Dorothy St. James brings readers murder, mystery, and romance. I love chocolate. The main protagonist is a fan of chocolate herself. Easy to connect with and likable. Charity Penn has always felt like something was missing in her life. Her mother was gone and her father moves quickly from woman to woman. All she had was an elderly woman took her in like a mother would. However, Penn soon finds trouble. She receives a letter which causes so much suspicion that she sends her best friend on the case. Only, he ends up dead. He found something. Told her to come there quick. And after that his body was found. The whole town thinks he was into drugs and that’s what caused his death. But Penn knew better. Her guess work soon leads into an investigation of crazy events. Money, chocolate, and greed. Penn and her new friend, a fury snapping dog head out to find answers. Asking for Truffle is indeed the perfect title. Suits well for this book. I loved it. Engaging from beginning to end. I look forward to reading more mysteries by Dorothy St. James. Overall, I highly recommend this novel to all. 

Advertisements