Review: The Flip Side

The Flip Side

Synopsis:

Penny wise or pound foolish? A heartbroken young Brit decides to turn his love life over to the flip of a coin—in this delightfully British rom-com in the vein of Jenny Colgan, Rosie Curtis, Nick Hornby, and David Nicholls.

To coin a phrase, Josh is suffering a quarter-life crisis. He just broke up with his long-term girlfriend, lost his job, and moved back home with his parents (shudder). Welcome to rock bottom in Bristol. As Josh starts questioning all his life choices, he has a mad thought: Maybe he would just be better flipping a coin. After all, careful planning has landed him homeless, jobless, and single.

What starts as a joke soon becomes serious and Josh decides to start putting his faith in the capriciousness of currency. He doesn’t have anything to lose.

But when the chance of a lifetime and the girl of his dreams are on the line, will the coin guide him to a rich love life or leave him flat broke?

Rating: 5-stars

Review:

The Flip Side by James Bailey is as real as a contemporary novel can get. I love the quirks. The protagonists is a detailed planner. He has everything all mapped out until, one step knocks down all his chips. A domino effect happens, here. It was interesting to watch as he he fell further down hill and then took a chance by risking every thing based on a flip of a coin. I too, thought he was crazy…but then again when he planned everything and it still went wrong, maybe, his choice wasn’t so crazy. The story begins sad and stays that way until things start to change for the character. Josh proposes to his long term girlfriend only for her to admit she cheated and of course, said no the the big question. Ouch!

This writer, had a way of pulling me into the character’s story even further. It starts out with sympathy gained and then caught my curiosity even further. I had to know where Josh’s story would end up and how. From there, I was rooting for the hero to have a good turn. The scenes were quick and entertaining. Action-packed novel with an emotional pull like no other. The middle was funny and charming. Then, there was the ending that was just as addictive as the rest of the book. I was hooked. Josh is a fascinating character. He’s a good guy trying to find his place. Overall, this romantic comedy should be a big screen movie. I would love to watch it all unfold on screen as he fumbles in finding his chance at love.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: