Review: Macaroons and Mayhem






Synopsis:

Excitement blossoms through Peridale when a prestigious gardening magazine picks the village as the spotlight for their next issue, but that joy quickly turns to dread when members of the local gardening society, The Peridale Green Fingers, start dying one by one after their obituaries are sent to The Peridale Post the day before their murders.

Julia is asked to bake macarons for the magazine’s unveiling of ‘The Best Garden in Peridale’ party, but with death striking the village, she has more important things to worry about. Is somebody killing The Green Fingers’ to better their chances of winning the title as well as the cash prize, or is there something more sinister happening? With her old friend and newspaper reporter, Johnny, by her side, Julia must uncover the truth before every member of the club is crushed like an unwanted weed.

Rating: 5-stars

Review:

Macaroons and Mayhem by Agatha Frost is the nest best book in this thrilling mystery series! I love her books. Agatha Frost has once again, proven that she is queen of the cozy mystery genre. There’s so much to love about her writing. Fast-paced, exciting, romantic, hilarious, deadly, and plenty of drama to keep me busy as always. 

The main character, Julia South, is my all time favorite sleuth. A baker at heart who has the ability to become the best world known detective. She always solves every case. Wherever Julia goes, there’s always a murder mystery to solve. In this case, more than one person dies and a fourth victim as or may not survive the attack. Someone is targeting a garden club. The top members are being killed one by one. Unless the police can figure it out, more people will die. That’s when Julia is called to the case. An investigative journalist friend comes to her after the police mocks him. He thinks he’s stumbled upon a murder investigation. But even Julia is skeptical….but as the events unfold her skeptics may changes and she’s on the hunt. Macaroons and Mayhem has proven to be Julia South’s toughest case yet. Overall, I loved reading this new mystery. I can’t wait to read the eighth book. Agatha Frost is beyond talented. 

Review: Cat Got Your Secrets 






Synopsis:

Lacy Marie Crocker has settled into a comfortable groove back home in New Orleans, and with Valentine’s Day right around the corner, she’s busier than ever running a thriving pet boutique, helping her mother organize the upcoming National Pet Pageant, and untangling her complicated love life. But when delivering a king-sized order of dreidel-shaped doggy biscuits for a Saint Berdoodle’s bark-mitzvah, Lacy stumbles into yet another murder scene—and the last person to see the victim alive was her own father.

It’s up to Lacy to clear her dad’s name from the suspect list before Detective Jack Oliver has to cage him for good. But just when she starts pawing at the truth, she receives a threatening letter from a mysterious blackmailer bent on silencing her with her own secrets. And Lacy’s not the only one with bones in her closet.

Time’s running out in this deadly cat-and-mouse game in Cat Got Your Secrets, the delightfully funny third novel in Julie Chase’s Kitty Couture mystery series, perfect for “all those feline fanciers who love to read Rita Mae Brown” (Suspense Magazine).



Rating: 4-stars

Review:

Cat Got Your Secrets by Julie Chase is an exciting new murder mystery. A young woman finds out that her dad is anything but fine. His whole body language says he’s not okay. Just as Lacey goes to a client, she soon finds that he’s dead. And the last person who saw him alive was her dad. From there things become more complicated and messy. A blackmailer insists she stays quiet. But Lacey keeps digging away for the truth. 

Cat Got Your Secrets is full of danger, risks, and humor. I was intrigued. Julie Chase created characters that were easy to relate to and like them. Lacey is close to my age and her life felt believable. Her parents were real in their behavior. A pushy but caring mother and a good dad whose hiding secrets….but I also learned that he wasn’t the only one keeping them. Interesting, entertaining, and a feel good read. I enjoyed following this mystery. Overall, I recommend it to readers everywhere. 

Review: The Evaporation of Sofi Snow



Synopsis:

Ever since the Delonese ice-planet arrived eleven years ago, Sofi’s dreams have been vivid. Alien. In a system where Earth’s corporations rule in place of governments and the humanoid race orbiting the moon are allies, her only constant has been her younger brother, Shilo. As an online gamer, Sofi battles behind the scenes of Earth’s Fantasy Fighting arena where Shilo is forced to compete in a mix of real and virtual blood sport. But when a bomb takes out a quarter of the arena, Sofi’s the only one who believes Shilo survived. She has dreams of him. And she’s convinced he’s been taken to the ice-planet.
Except no one but ambassadors are allowed there.
For Miguel, Earth’s charming young playboy, the games are of a different sort. As Ambassador to the Delonese, his career has been built on trading secrets and seduction. Until the Fantasy Fight’s bomb goes off. Now the tables have turned and he’s a target for blackmail. The game is simple: Help the blackmailers, or lose more than anyone can fathom, or Earth can afford. 

Rating: 4.5-stars

Review:

The Evaporation of Sofi Snow by Mary Weber is a fascinating YA book. The race to find answers is thrilling. A young girl loses her brother and a young man is worried he lost her, Sofi. Sofi isn’t sure if her brother is really gone or not. Miguel may know something…only now, he’s being blackmailed. Can an online gamer and an Abassador find a way to beat the odds?

Sofi is clever. She’s a charcater that I can easily connect to. Her loss and grief over her brother pulled me closer to her. When she thinks her brother may not be gone likeeveryone states…she goes searching for the truth. Her determination and bravery make this a worthy adventure. Then there’s Miguel. He is in a difficult position. Not sure of who Sofi really is but is pulled to her by a connection, soon leads him into danger. Video games and aliens are taken to a whole level in this stunning tale. Intrigue, suspense, and a deadly plot will keep readers sucked into The Evaporation of Sofi Snow. Mary Weber’s talent can be seen through her words. Every page absorbed me into the conflict…overall, I highly recommend this novel. 

Review: Mean Sisters

cover77671-medium.png

 

Synopsis:

Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Lindsey Kelk and Mean Girls.
A sassy, hilariously funny murder mystery where the closest bonds of friendship might just kill you…!

Margot Blythe is a twenty-something year old who can’t seem to let her college glory days go. After all, everyone deserves a family of ‘sisters’ like she had. When she’s invited to speak at her alma mater, her homecoming reception isn’t exactly what she expected. Tragedy strikes and Margot has to step up, especially when foul play is suspected.

She’s going to save her fifty frazzled ‘sisters’, keep the suspicious (but dangerously cute) police officer at bay and find out the truth – could a sister have committed such an unimaginable sin as murder?

Margot is going to learn the real bond of sisterhood and maybe, just maybe, discover where she truly belongs.

Rating: 5 stars

Review:

Wow! The Mean Sisters is a novel women cannot pass up on…this read is everything readers want. Humor, friendships, mystery and a bit of hot sparks flying around…Lindsay Emory is a talented writer. Her novel reminds me of Legally Blonde in a way of the whole soroity house thing. Readers will get an insider’s view to the going ons within a very top close knit soroity house. The girls seem like the super sweet women but not all of them are nice…espeically like the campus cop, Ty Hartfield who was teased badly for his weight. It takes until the end for Margot to remember who Ty was…but then again there was a lot going on within her soroity group. Things she didn’t think would happen but did.

The Mean Sisters is an absolute must read for all. The laughter, tears, and dedication is amazing. Lindsay Emory shows readers a realistic side to sorioties. They can be both good and bad…like say blackmail, sex ring, and murder all wrapped up inside of one house. A house full of many suspects…and as the plot unfolds…Margot and Ty find themselves trying to find a murder…and it’s hard for Margot to think one of her sisters can be anything but good. However, she starts to find things suspicious after several incidents inside the house happen. Readers will be hooked from the beginning. This read is addictive and well-written. The characters are super believable and intriguing…I hope Lindsay Emory writes another book featuring the soroity sister, Margot and her new friend Ty Hartfield and what lies in wait for them next. Overall, I highly recommend this delightful novel to readers everywhere. I loved reading and can promise you won’t be disappointed.