Tag Archives: Emelie Schepp

Review: Slowly We Die by Emelie Schepp

 

 

 

 

 

 

Synopsis:

An accidental slip of a blade…Then murderous revenge…A patient’s accidental maiming leads a young surgeon to abandon his profession…Now, ten years later, a series of gruesomely senseless murders are rocking the medical community. The weapon? A surgical scalpel.Who is preying on these victims? What does the grisly pattern reveal? And who will be next? Special prosecutor Jana Berzelius is in charge of the investigation. What she can’t know until finally closing in on the murderer is how her own mother’s recent death is intimately connected.

For fans of Tess Gerritsen and Patricia Cornwell, an intricate medical thriller that keeps everyone guessing. 2017 SWEDISH CRIME WRITER OF THE YEAR’Schepp may be the smoothest storyteller among the new crop of Nordic noir aces…the ingenious plot reveals and hidden connections keep you glued to the action.’ – Kirkus Reviews

Rating: 4-stars

Review:

Slowly We Die by Emelie Schepp is a frightening thriller. Imagine being locked in with an unconscious prisoner only to find him awake…the nurse dropped the needle. Her partner bent down to pick it up only to find her dead and the prisoner alive.

Death hung in the air on every page. The intensity of the increasing violence and the volume of people being murdered by a scalpel made my hair stick up. Then, I found out the main character, a prosecutor, may have a personal attachment to the case at hand. Freaky, deadly, and chilling…Emelie Schepp got the fear factor in full force.

The novel really went into depth on the strictness or lack of strictness in the punishments for prisoners. It also showed how some higher individuals also got lower to no punishment for their crimes. Unjust and quickly spiraling out of control, the justice system is sinking. People are scared. These issues are still a big problem to be dealt with…yet nothing got fixed.

How many people have to die before the justice system is fixed? And who is behind all the killings? Is a less strict policy best for deals with criminals…like our prosecutor thought? Or was she wrong? Overall, I enjoyed reading Slowly We Die by Emelie Schepp. It definitely left me thinking hard on these subjects.

 

Advertisements

Review: Marked for Revenge


Synopsis:

When a Thai girl overdoses smuggling drugs, the trail points to Danillo, the one criminal MMA-trained public prosecutor Jana Berzelius most wants to destroy. Eager to erase any evidence of her sordid childhood, Berzelius must secretly hunt down this deadly nemesis with whom she shares a horrific past.  

Meanwhile, the police are zeroing in on the elusive head of the long-entrenched Swedish narcotics trade, who goes by the name The Old Man. No one has ever encountered this diabolical mastermind in person; he is like a shadow, but a shadow who commands extreme respect. Who is this overarching drug lord? Berzelius craves to know his identity, even as she clandestinely tracks Danillo, who has threatened to out her for who she really is. She knows she must kill him first, before he can reveal her secrets. If she fails, she will lose everything. 

As she prepares for the fight of her life, Berzelius discovers an even more explosive and insidious betrayal—one that entangles her inextricably in the whole sordid network of crime. 

The second in a trilogy of fast-paced, high-stakes thrillers by the international bestselling author Emelie Schepp, Marked for Revenge involves the international drug trade and child trafficking and features the brilliant, enigmatic prosecutor Jana Berzelius, whose own dark past has, until recently, been hidden even from herself.

Rating: 5-stars

Review:

Marked for Revenge by Emelie Schepp is the second installment to one of the best and darkest thrillers ever. Immediately, I was drawn into the web of darkness. One that definitely surrounds the main character, Jana Berzelius. A prosecutor who goes to danger’s most i inviting places to get what she needs. Answers. Things like secrets, betrayals, and suspense have their way of always making it into Emelie Schepp’s novels. I felt compelled to know more. Even if that meant following, Jana Berzelius, to her death. 

The characterization is amazing. I got more of an insider’s scoop with this book. More information on the main character’s life, is unveiled. Emelie Schepp has created another compelling read. She makes organized crime like child trafficking into one of the most horrendous nightmares yet. While, I wish these crimes were not being committed at all, the reality and fear of what happens is perfectly caught within this novel. The plot is fast-paced, complex, and bone chilling. Captivating, frightening, and engaging…Marked for Revenge is definitely a recommended read for all. 

Review: Marked for Life

 

Synopsis:

When a high-ranking head of the migration board is found shot to death in his living room, there is no shortage of suspects, including his wife. But no one expects to find mysterious, child-size fingerprints in this childless home.

Public prosecutor Jana Berzelius steps in to lead the investigation. Young and brilliant but emotionally cold, Berzelius, like her famous prosecutor father, won’t be swayed by the hysterical widow or intimidated by the threatening letters the victim had tried to hide. She is steely, aloof, impenetrable. That is, until the boy…

A few days later on a nearby deserted shoreline, the body of a derelict preteen is discovered, and with him, the murder weapon that killed the official. Berzelius finds herself drawn more deeply into the case when, as she attends the boy’s autopsy, she recognizes something familiar on his small, scarred, drug-riddled body. Cut deep into his flesh are initials that scream child trafficking and trigger in her a flash of memory from her own dark childhood. Her connection to this boy has been carved with deliberation and malice that penetrate to her very core.

Now, to protect her own horrific but hidden past, she must find the real suspect behind these murders before the police do.

Rating: 5 stars

Review:

Marked for Life by Emelie Schepp is one mind-blowing thriller. It rushes readers through a dark journey that goes deep into a character’s past. A killer is loose and one woman is determined to find the killer before the police do. Readers will be brought into one female prosecutor’s life and digging through demons in order to find clues on the murders at hand. Marked for Life is a chilling and edgy read that will keep readers up all night long.  This debut brings out realistic issues like child trafficking, drugs, and high levels of danger. A team of three forms and the deeper they investigate, the more memories are unleashed.

Emelie Schepp’s novel has wowed me from the beginning to end. I felt my heart pounding and the sweat, build up as the plot continued to unfold. A strong female leading role is evident, inside, this thriller. Having grown-up in a home that lacked the normal emotional journey that families share…leading prosecutor, Jana Berzelius, takes the lead on the murders. A murder weapon… and a container with people inside are found. A murderer thinks that Jana will never piece together the entire mystery…but when she does will it be too late for her and will the killer escape? Jana’s past childhood is darker than she thought…her father isn’t her real father….and her whole life has been dark. Living in the nightmares isn’t something that one wants to live in…and Jana ends up with more questions than answers. I felt sympathy for all the victims and the families that were found in the containers. Not many ended up in a good life like Jana. Marked for Life is a thriller that I would highly recommend to all. It will keep readers guessing…