Review: America’s Sweetheart

America's Sweetheart (Real Love, #5)

 

 

 

 

Synopsis:

Old flames burn bright. When a disgraced starlet returns home to lick her wounds, she discovers that her high school sweetheart is just as tempting as ever.

“No one writes big-hearted bad boys like Jessica Lemmon!”—New York Times bestselling author Lori Foster

Allison: When I left for California, I gave myself a new name and never looked back. Now my carefully crafted good-girl image is getting torn to shreds in the press thanks to my Oscar-winning A-hole of an ex-boyfriend. So I escape to the only safe haven I know and trust—my hometown—to take a breather while I plot my triumphant Hollywood comeback. However, when I arrive at my parents’ house, Jackson Burke answers the door instead. And suddenly the past comes rushing back. . . .

Jackson: First kiss. First time. First love. Yep, Allison Murphy and I shared a lot of firsts back in the day. When she left, she took half my heart with her. Now she’s back in town, and even though I swore I’d keep my distance, her parents hired me to remodel their house, and I’m going to finish the job. But one hot kiss later, suddenly the press is calling us the next big celebrity couple. Sure, I’ll play the part, for Allison’s sake—but I refuse to let her close enough to break my heart all over again. . . .

Rating: 4-stars

Review:

America’s Sweetheart by Jessica Lemmon is an interesting romantic story. In this case, the guy is the one who had his heart broken. Then, his first loves comes back and everything spirals out of control. Such as faking a relationship with her to help keep appearances. But how much of it is actually fake between them? And Jackson fell hard the first time, there is definitely no way, he will be able to follow his own damn rules. Like kissing his ex or falling back in love all over again…

The characters were great. I loved Jackson. He would do anything for anyone especially for the woman who broke his heart. I felt sorry for him. I did not like his ex girlfriend that much. Her personality just did not click with me. However, I was cheering for Jackson that he may actually be getting another chance to have his happily ever after-even if that meant his ex. Overall, it was a sweet, sexy, and entertaining tale.

 

Review: Airports, Exes, and Other Things I’m Over

Airports, Exes, and Other Things I'm Over

 

 

 

 

 

Synopsis:

A bad storm, two canceled flights, stuck in an airport with a hot stranger and the guy who broke her heart… what could go wrong?

After Sari caught her boyfriend Zev cheating on her, their romantic Florida vacation was ruined. She can’t get back to NYC soon enough. Unfortunately, mother nature may have different plans. A huge storm is brewing in the Northeast, and flights all over the country are getting canceled—including Sari’s. She winds up stuck at the airport for hours. With Zev!

When another stranded passenger (a hot NYU guy) suggests a connecting flight to Boston, Sari jumps at the chance. But when her mom freaks out about her traveling alone, she has no choice—she has to include Zev, and somehow survive being trapped with the guy who broke her heart!

Rating: 5-stars

Review:

Airports, Exes, and Other Things I’m Over by Shani Petroff is one YA romance that swept me up quickly. I couldn’t read fast enough. The plot was that juicy…and addictive. The characters felt real. Their dilemmas had me laughing, crying, and left wondering what next.

A young finds her her boyfriend in an unexpected situation. To Sari, it looked like betrayal and felt like it too. Her boyfriend, Zev, tried to explain but Sari wasn’t having any of it. She just wanted to leave immediately and be rid of him. But love, if  real, doesn’t back down nor die. Nor does it give up that easily. Sari will have to find the answers to how to deal with the shocking betrayal and decide where her and Zev’s fate lie.

Shani Petroff had me hooked. This book was a lot of fun. I really like the teenagers that were created. First love, kisses, and the confusion of what to do in those cases led me back to a time when I too, was that young. Overall, I recommend this romantic and heartfelt tale to all readers.

Review: Off the Hook

 

Synopsis:

Welcome to The Buoys, a West Coast haven where love comes in with the tide. Perfect for readers of Jill Shalvis and Susan Mallery, the Fishing for Trouble series features three unforgettable brothers—each of whom is a great catch.

Major league pitcher Liam O’Donnell knows his best days are probably behind him, but that doesn’t mean he’s ready to retire and become a fishing guide. Still, after all the time he’s spent chasing his dreams, he owes it to his brothers to pull his weight around the lodge. The Buoys is their father’s legacy, and they can’t let some developer take it from them. The one snag Liam isn’t counting on is a blast from the past: his ex-wife.

The moment Kate Hadley steps out of the seaplane, she knows this assignment is going to be trickier than she thought. She has to persuade the owners to sell—and one of them is Liam O’Donnell. Ten years ago, she made the biggest mistake of her life when she married Liam during a fling in Vegas. Now he’s her only lifeline in the middle of nowhere. Kate’s trying to keep things cool, but Liam just reminds her of the scorching few nights they spent together—and tempts her to make new memories that are just as steamy as the old.

Rating: 5 stars

Review:

Off the Hook by Laura Drewry is one hot sexy read that will leave readers falling in love.Three amazing men, a family legacy, and trouble in the form of an ex. One of the brothers will be surprised and everything from the past will hit him harder than he thinks. A once upon a time romance that seems to not have died out at all…Laura Drewry sure knows how to lure readers in deep. The plot is addictive and moves by fast. The characters are well-developed and leave you following them along as the story unfolds.

Off the Hook is an extraordinary journey that readers won’t be forgetting anytime soon. Laura Drewry’s novel captivates readers from the beginning and holds onto them throughout the pages. Every page builds up, with an intense emotion that will soon break between two interesting individuals. The family roots and the way they all work hard together to pull up…is amazing. I love family relationships that were portrayed within this exciting read. The romance is enticing…and so is the brotherly love. Overall, I highly recommend this beautifully written story to readers everywhere.

Review: The Ex

51WeDv6d64L._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

 

Synopsis:

In this breakout standalone novel of suspense in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on a Train, a woman agrees to help an old boyfriend who has been framed for murder—but begins to suspect that she is the one being manipulated.

Twenty years ago she ruined his life. Now she has the chance to save it.

Widower Jack Harris has resisted the dating scene ever since the shooting of his wife Molly by a fifteen-year-old boy three years ago. An early morning run along the Hudson River changes that when he spots a woman in last night’s party dress, barefoot, enjoying a champagne picnic alone, reading his favorite novel. Everything about her reminds him of what he used to have with Molly. Eager to help Jack find love again, his best friend posts a message on a popular website after he mentions the encounter. Days later, that same beautiful stranger responds and invites Jack to meet her in person at the waterfront. That’s when Jack’s world falls apart.

Olivia Randall is one of New York City’s best criminal defense lawyers. When she hears that her former fiancé, Jack Harris, has been arrested for a triple homicide—and that one of the victims was connected to his wife’s murder—there is no doubt in her mind as to his innocence. The only question is who would go to such great lengths to frame him—and why?

For Olivia, representing Jack is a way to make up for past regrets, to absolve herself of guilt from a tragic decision, a secret she has held for twenty years. But as the evidence against him mounts, she is forced to confront her doubts. The man she knew could not have done this. But what if she never really knew him?

Rating: 5 stars

Review:

The Ex by Alafair Burke is a suspenseful yet highly entertaining read. Readers will be swept off their feet and pulled into a masterful plot. Fast-paced, highly engaging, and well-written, readers will love this new title. Alafair Burke is definitely one of the most talented suspense writers today. His novels never disappoint readers. The scenes are vivid and the characerters are well developed. A past left behind is now coming out and makes everything complicated for one criminal defense lawyer.

Inside this thriller, reader will find the most intriguing plot ever. A woman rushes to save her boyfriend from crimes he’s being accused of…but soon she finds herself doubting if she’s truly defending an innocent friend or a masermind criminal. Alafair Burke leaves readers constantly wondering what if…and what happens next. The Ex is an exciting novel that will hook in every reader…this is one novel that I couldn’t put down until I read the entire book. For those who enjoy detective stories and legal thrillers then this is one novel you must read. I enjoyed reading this as the plot unfolded and the case spun me further into the danger of it all. I highly recommend this title to readers everywhere.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: