Review: The Three Lives of Alix St. Pierre

Synopsis: A compelling and lavish novel from the NYT bestselling author about a young woman striving to forget her part in the war by building life anew as the publicist at the just-launching House of Dior in Paris1943. After spearheading several successful advertising campaigns in New York, PR wizard Alix St Pierre comes to the... Continue Reading →

Review: The Counterfeit Wife

Synopsis: Philadelphia, June 1780. George Washington’s two least likely spies return, masquerading as husband and wife as they search for traitors in Philadelphia. Months have passed since young widow Becca Parcell and former printer Daniel Alloway foiled a plot that threatened the new nation. But independence is still a distant dream, and General Washington can’t... Continue Reading →

Review: Immoral Origins by Lee Matthew Goldberg

Synopsis: A PULSE-POUNDING THRILLER THAT ASKS HOW FAR WE'RE WILLING TO SHED OUR MORALS IN ORDER TO HELP THE ONES WE LOVE. It's 1978 in New York City, and disco is prominent. As are mobsters, gritty streets, needle parks and graffiti-stained subways. Jake Barnum lives in Hell's Kitchen. He's a petty thief selling hot coats... Continue Reading →

Review: Second Glance by Jodi Picoult

Synopsis: When odd, supernatural events plague the town of Comtosook, a ghost hunter is hired by the developer to help convince the residents that there's nothing spiritual about the property. An intricate tale of love, haunting memories, and renewal. (An interview about the book is included below the reading guide). "Sometimes I wonder....Can a ghost... Continue Reading →

Review: Critical Alliance by Elizabeth Goddard

Synopsis: Mackenzie Hanson's special set of skills opened the door to a successful career as a professor of cybersecurity at a Michigan university, allowing her to put her criminal past behind her. But when a long-ago partner in crime delivers a cryptic message about her father's tech company being under cyberattack, she heads for Montana... Continue Reading →

Review: Tear Down the Throne

Synopsis: Bestselling author Jennifer Estep continues her Gargoyle Queen epic fantasy series where magic reigns, alliances are tested, and a dangerous attraction could tear down a throne. . .Crown princess. Clever spy. Powerful mind magier. Gemma Ripley of Andvari is all those things--and determined to stop an enemy from using magical tearstone weapons to conquer... Continue Reading →

Review: Scattered Legacy

Synopsis: To outsiders, the relationship between Manhattan antiquities assessor Annalisse Drury and sports car magnate Alec Zavos must look carefree and glamorous. In reality, it’s a love affair regularly punctuated by treasure hunting, action-packed adventure, and the occasional dead body. When Alec schedules an overseas trip to show Annalisse his mother's birthplace in Bari, Italy, he squeezes in the... Continue Reading →

Review: The Vanishing at Loxby Manor

Synopsis: Disappearances, strange activities in the night, and secret organizations abound in this mysterious Regency romance.Haunted by the assault she’s kept hidden over the past four years, Charity Halliwell finally has a chance to return home to the quaint village she left more than five years before and the happy life she wants so badly... Continue Reading →

Review: Thunder Peak

Synopsis: Carved from the rugged Chiricahua Mountains, the intimidating spire, Thunder Peak, slashes the sky, haunting the southern reaches of the Arizona Territory and looming over Itza Chu Canyon. Hidden in the valley below, beset by the mountain's odd weather patterns and wrapped in chilling legends of its own, is Storm Town. The canyon offers... Continue Reading →

Review: Chaos by Iris Johansen

Synopsis: The #1 New York Times bestselling author introduces CIA agent Alisa Flynn, who is willing to go rogue if it means catching the most heartless band of criminals she's ever encountered. When CIA agent Alisa Flynn flaunts the rules by breaking into a mansion in the middle of the night, she skillfully circumvents alarms and outwits... Continue Reading →

Review: Bird in A Snare

Synopsis: When Hani, an Egyptian diplomat under Akhenaten, is sent to investigate the murder of a useful bandit leader in Syria, he encounters corruption, tangled relationships, and yet more murder. His investigation is complicated by the new king’s religious reforms, which have struck Hani’s own family to the core. Hani’s mission is to amass enough... Continue Reading →

Review: Please See Us

Synopsis: In this sophisticated, suspenseful debut reminiscent of Laura Lippman and Chloe Benjamin, two young women become unlikely friends during one fateful summer in Atlantic City as mysterious disappearances hit dangerously close to home. Summer has come to Atlantic City but the boardwalk is empty of tourists, the casino lights have dimmed, and two Jane... Continue Reading →

Review: Salvation Station

Synopsis: When committed female police captain Linda Turner, haunted by the murders of two small children and their pastor father, becomes obsessed with solving the harrowing case, she finds herself wrapped up in a mission to expose a fraudulent religious organization and an unrepentant killer. Despite her years of experience investigating homicides for the force,... Continue Reading →

Review: On the Corner of Love and Hate

    Synopsis: For fans of Christina Lauren and Lauren Layne comes a delightfully sassy and sexy romance about a campaign manager who reluctantly works with the local Lothario to help revamp his image for the upcoming mayoral elections, only to discover that he’s hiding something that can turn both their lives upside down. What’s... Continue Reading →

Review: Real Monsters

          Synopsis: Sean O’Shea is ready to write his next thriller. He decides to research the origins of Eastern European superstitions and prove they are based in fact. He’s about to learn the unfortunate truth. Meanwhile, lunatic Craig Breedlove, serial killer extraordinaire, escapes from the Winnebago Mental Health Institute. He has... Continue Reading →

Review: Cultural Diversity in Health and Illness by Rachel E. Spector

            Synopsis: For courses in Community/Public Health Nursing, Transcultural Nursing, and CEUs. Promotes an awareness of the dimensions and complexities involved in caring for people from diverse cultural backgrounds The ninth edition of Cultural Diversity in Health and Wellness examines the differences existing within North America by probing the health... Continue Reading →

Review: The Cabin Sessions

Synopsis: The Cabin Sessions is a confronting, hard-hitting, dark psychological thriller told with acid wit. Themes of abuse are explored through minds distorted by fear and corrupted by hatred and delusion; this is a tale in which redemption is gained in unexpected ways. It's Christmas Eve when hapless musician Adam Banks stands on the bridge... Continue Reading →

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: