Review: Look for Her by Emily Winslow

Look For Her (Keene and Frohmann, #4)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Synopsis:

Everyone loves a beautiful missing girl… a gripping psychological thriller that delves into the grief, jealousy, and unresolved mystery surrounding a cold case kidnapping, in the vein of Gilly MacMillan and Mary Kubica.

Just outside of Cambridge, Lilling seems like an unassuming idyllic English village, but it’s home to a dark history. In 1976, a teenage girl named Annalise Wood disappeared while riding her bike home from school. Though her body was later discovered in a shallow grave, the culprit was never found. Decades later, Annalise maintains a perverse kind of celebrity in the small town, and is still the focus of grief, speculation, and for one young woman, a disturbing, escalating jealousy.

When DNA linked to the Annalise murder unexpectedly surfaces, cold case investigator Morris Keene realizes he may now have the chance of his career. Morris and his former partner, Chloe Frohmann, hope to finally solve this perplexing mystery, and bring closure to a traumatized community. But the new evidence that should be the simple solution instead undoes the case’s only certainty: the buried body that had long ago been confidently identified as Annalise may be someone else entirely, and instead of answers, the investigators face only new puzzles.

Whose body was unearthed all those years ago, and what happened to the real Annalise? Could she have had a secret child? Is someone interfering with the investigation? And is there a link to a present-day drowning with eerie connections?

With piercing insight and fascinating twists, Emily Winslow explores the dark side of sensationalized crime in this haunting psychological thriller.

Rating: 4-stars

Review:

Look for Her by Emily Winslow is a living nightmare. One young girl disappears and her cold case connects to a newer one. I found it intriguing. So many questions popped up in how they were connected, who dun it, and etc. Emily Winslow has a way of capturing my interest with every page. Twists and turns kept me guessing the whole way. This novel was definitely a psychological thriller but more of a mystery. The psychological part is where the missing Annalise girl and another by the same name come into play. One is completely crazy…but there’s a story behind that as well. A story within another story. This kept up the edgy vibe and fear factor. The fact that a doctor was easily chilled by her patient, Annalise made goosebumps appear on my arms.

A call comes in…

“I have so much to say next time I see you…” says Annalise.

Then just silence…the sound of the patient breathing on the other end…handing onto the call.

The doctor was the same age as the Annalise girl that went missing years ago.

That only made me more curious. Overall, a great plot worth reading.

Review: When All The Girls Have Gone

When All The Girls Have Gone by [Krentz, Jayne Ann]

 

Synopsis:

When Charlotte Sawyer is unable to contact her stepsister, Jocelyn, to tell her that one of her closest friends was found dead, she discovers that Jocelyn has vanished.

Beautiful, brilliant—and reckless—Jocelyn has gone off the grid before, but never like this. In a desperate effort to find her, Charlotte joins forces with Max Cutler, a struggling PI who recently moved to Seattle after his previous career as a criminal profiler went down in flames—literally. Burned out, divorced and almost broke, Max needs the job.

After surviving a near-fatal attack, Charlotte and Max turn to Jocelyn’s closest friends, women in a Seattle-based online investment club, for answers. But what they find is chilling…

When her uneasy alliance with Max turns into a full-blown affair, Charlotte has no choice but to trust him with her life. For the shadows of Jocelyn’s past are threatening to consume her—and anyone else who gets in their way…

Rating: 5 stars

Review:

When All the Girls Have Gone by Jayne Ann Krentz is a cozy romantic mystery with a lot of humor. I have read a few of Jayne Ann Krentz’s novels, but this latest one hooked me. The characters were fascinating to watch in action. Their easy-going nature and troubles were interesting. They fit in together like a jigsaw puzzle. Both main characters had lived lives that changed them. Apparently, it seemed to change them both in a positive way. One escaped a fire and was adopted the other was dumped before her wedding and left with bills to pay off…both have issues. Real life issues.It was easy to connect with them on many levels. The way life pulls the rug from under their feet kind of theme also rings true in real life. I love how realistic everything played out inside this book. The PI investigator’s timing and knack for gut instincts in finding out stuff were incredible. Yet he seems to put doubt, in his gut, when it comes to a more personal reason. This causes him to wonder and it eats him alive. Anyone placed in this man’s shoes would have questions as well as doubts. Then, there’s the leading female character who believed in him. This sort of gave him a piece over his internal conflicts. Plus, the instant chemistry between the two satisfying. Two sisters are involved in a dangerous situation. One left thinking she was protecting her sister and friends. Turned out that she was wrong. Instead, she and her sister will be reunited under dire circumstances and it will be up to the PI investigator to get them both before it’s too late…When All the Girls Have Gone is an intriguing, suspenseful, yet wonderful journey. One that readers won’t resist. I loved reading it. Every page had some kind of action that intrigued me. Kept me turning those pages. When I reached the ending, I was very glad I read this book. Overall, Jayne Ann Krentz’s novel is a must read for all. I highly recommend it.

 

Trouble Part 1

Mandy didn’t know that after rooming with her best friend, she was in trouble. Her best friend took to partying and chasing guys and being bossy to just about every other girl on campus. She didn’t expect trouble to come. Nor did she expect it to come knocking on her apartment door. Mandy moved off campus to a more quiet peaceful place that was decent and affordable. An elderly woman who was kind and sweet and loved to bake offered her an apartment for a real low price. The elderly lady needed company. And she found that in Mandy. Mandy loved the older woman. Reminding her of her grandma whom passed away five years ago. Answering the door, there stood three police officers.
The police introduced themselves and asked Mandy many questions about her best friend, Rose McGuire. After answering all their questions, Mandy asked them why they were questioning her about her friend. The older police officer turned around to look at her and said, “She was found dead, inside her college dorm.” Then turned and walked away with the others.

How did Rose die? Alcohol? Drugs? No..Rose can definitely hold in her liquor. Drugs, no. Rose and her were extremely against them. The only difference between the girls was that Rose wanted to be wild once free from her family back home. She went boy crazy like a crazed teenage girl. She became super bossy towards all females except for her friend Mandy. Would someone kill Rose because she was bossy? Or was it because Rose took away a guy from another girl? Rose was known as the breaker up. She would flirt with guys who already had a girl just to see if she could make them like her. Rose was both weird and crazy like that. But how did the other girls feel about Rose? Resentment..anger…and hatred..yes. Those would be a motive to kill. But who? And how? And were those really the reasons why?

The Runaway Part 3

Detective Amy Reid and her now partner Officer James Weatherson, have three unsolved murders. And a serial killer on the loose. Who are all three victims? Where were they held captive before killed? Were there more bodies to be found?
Questions after questions, reporters were storming the police station. A fourth victim was found in a park. All victims were women, beaten, and starved. Before let out and killed. Al four have different hair colors. A blonde, a redhead, a brunette, and a blackhaired woman. All had different skin tones too. All four were placed in different locations from each other. And all were shortly killed a day before the other one.
What was the killer’s motive? Something against women?  Feeling frustrated the cornors came up to inform both Amy and James that the women lived in the same apartment together. All of them went to the same college.
When they went around asking other college students if the four women had any enemies everyone said no.
Everyone had some kind of enemy..
Amy felt like someone was falling her around. But shook the feeling off. It was a campus. Students were every where.
Lurking in the shadows someone followed Amy everywhere she went. Watching her every step.
Bidding time..

James found Amy and informed her that the criminal instructor was recently laid off..because he wouldn’t allow women in his criminology class. Saying women were too weak to handle it. Amy felt this had to be their killer. James also informed her that he had officers search his home and they couldn’t find him. That it looked like he hadn’t been there for weeks. His garbage bag stunk up his house. And theres no food in the fridge nor did his bed look slept in. James told her they got a search warrant to go through the house and his garage searching for anyhing thay would end the investigation.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: