Tag Archives: missing

Review: Murder at an Irish Wedding (book 2)

 

 

 

 

 

Synopsis:

The O Sullivan clan of County Cork, Ireland, are thrilled to be catering the matrimonial affairs of a celebrity couple until a cunning killer turns an Irish wedding into an Irish wake . . .

“Any wedding is a big deal in the small village of Kilbane even more so when the bride is a famous fashion model. It s also good for business. Not only has customer traffic picked up at Naomi s Bistro, Siobhan O Sullivan and her five siblings have a full plate catering for the three-day affair. And Siobhan s own beau, local garda Macdara Flannery, gladly steps in as best man after the groom s first choice makes a drunken arse out of himself.

Even if he hadn t been disinvited to the wedding, the original best man wouldn t have been able to show. He s been found murdered in the woods, casting a pall over the nuptials. And when a second member of the wedding party is poisoned by a champagne flute engraved with Macdara s name, the garda goes from being best man to prime suspect.

With a killer at large and a string of robberies plaguing Kilbane, Siobhan feels more than a little protective of her village. She vows to clear Macdara s name, but the suspect list is as long as the guest list. Like the bride walking down the aisle, Siobhan needs to watch her step. For as she gets closer to unveiling the truth, the murderer is planning a very chilly reception for her . . .

 

 

 

 

PRAISE FOR “MURDER IN AN IRISH VILLAGE”

“”

If Janet Evanovich and Maeve Binchy wrote a book together, “Murder in an Irish Village”would be the result. This one isdelicious fun. Laurien Berenson, author of”Live and Let Growl”

A lively debut . . . The cheeky and close-knit O Sullivans are sure to appeal to cozy fans, who will also appreciate the warmth and spirit of the people of Kilbane. “Publishers Weekly”

A smart whodunnit in an idyllic locale. I dare you not to be charmed by sleuth Siobhan and her siblings, the O Sullivan Six. Barbara Ross, author of “Fogged Inn”

“”

This entertaining combination of Maeve Binchy s old-world Irish charm and Janet Evanovich s roguish humor is a smart, fast-paced read. Devotees of the Hibernian mysteries of Dicey Deere and M.C. Beaton will toast this debut with a pint of Guinness. Slainte! “Library Journal”

 

 

 

 

Rating: 4.5-stars

Review:

Murder at an Irish Wedding by Carlene O’Connor is rich in the Irish culture. I felt like I was transplanted in Ireland. The focus is strong on the Irish roots of the characters. Sometimes, it is a bit overwhelming. The plot was steady with enough action to keep me guessing. The groom, his father-in-law and Kevin were acted a bit strange. Their behavior put me on edge as I dug further into the book. Then, a mysterious note appears to Kevin and my curiosity explodes. Drama, mayhem, and murder are found here. The big Irish clan has more drama than any set of characters I’ve meet. The more drama exposed, the more interesting the scenes grew. Lady sleuth, Siobhan, is the easiest character to like. I’m happy that she’s the main protagonist in this novel. Her personality sparkles. Tempers flare, arguments break out, and all chaos breaks the happy wedding environment. This, was the first book I have read by Carlene O’Connor and yet I felt as though I’ve been reading her books for a long time. This one kept me on my toes with the characters. Overall, I enjoyed reading this murder mystery. I recommend to readers everywhere.

Advertisements

Review: Stalker, My Love




Synopsis:

An untraditional love story where fantasy clashes with reality, and happily ever after seems like an elusive dream. 
Welcome to Pine Bridge, a small town rife with secrets. Personal is everyone’s business and passion is high. 
With the disappearance of Rosalyn Ray, tensions soar and fingers point in every direction: the boyfriend, the best friend, the mother and the stalker. 
Frustrated by the search going nowhere, Rhett Calloway makes it his mission to discover the truth and find the girl. Some people in Pine Bridge say he’s obsessed. Some say he’s dangerous. Some say he’s hurt Rosalyn. All Rhett knows is he’s loved Rosalyn since they were kids and he’ll do what it takes to see her again. 

Rating: 4.5-stars

Review:

Stalker, My Love by Zack Scott is an interesting novel. Parts of it resemble a thriller while most resemble that of a good mystery. Zack Scott kept me guessing. So many questions, and few clues. I liked how I couldn’t guess who, why, and what really happened. There are a lot of novels I have read that give away too much too soon. But definitely not in this case. Entertaining to read. 

Zack Scott’s novel, Stalker, My Love is a about a girl gone missing. So many events have happened. Leaving behind plenty of possible suspects who could have done it. Yet, nobody really knows who and what happened when she disappeared. One man is super intrigued about Rosalyn’s disappearance. Maybe, just too intrigued. This was on engaging journey to follow. Overall, it was a great read. Recommend it to readers everywhere. 

Review: Boy 9, Missing


Synopsis:

In the tradition of Defending Jacob or Drowning Ruth, this is a suspenseful debut that explores the ramifications of revenge, justice, and the aftermath of a terrible night in the lives of two families.

It should have been just a quiet evening with friends. But Francis lost his brother that night in what was ruled a tragic accident. He’s tried to move on in the last twenty-three years, even though his father certainly hasn’t. Indeed, his father still blames the lone witness, Sam, the nine-year-old son of friends. Perhaps if Sam would have just said something, anything, about what happened that night, but Sam still seems unable-or unwilling-to utter a word about the accident.

And now, twenty-three years later, Sam’s own nine-year-old son has disappeared.

Rating: 5-stars

Review

Boy 9, Missing by Nic Joseph is a psychological suspense novel, all readers won’t forget. The death that haunts the family within is one of the most realistic tellings I have ever read. An older brother can’t move past his younger brother’s death. Since that day, he has needed therapy of all kinds. He can’t move forward. Like the weight and unknown truth of what happened that night keeps haunting him. It’sad to see a family torn both physically and emotionally like this one presented here. A witness, annother young boy, has never once told the truth of what he saw that night on how his friend died. The mystery has surrounded that place until the last page…where all hell breaks loose and the truth may just come out after all. Nic Joseph created a thriller that was stunning, well-developed, and intriguing from the start. It sent chills down my back and tears down my cheeks. Who knew the killer was closer than the family thought. Anger, sex, psychological trauma and another young boy missing…keeps reading turning the pages. I couldn’t stop reading it. I had to know the truthjust like the main character, Francis. Boy 9, Missing is one novel that I highly recommend to all readers.