Review: Security by Gina Wohlsdorf

Security

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Synopsis:

“Original and imaginative . . . Ripping suspense, sheer terror, and a wrenching love story.” —Sandra Brown, New York Timesbestselling author of Friction 

The terrible truth about Manderley is that someone is always watching. Manderley Resort is a gleaming, new twenty-story hotel on the California coast. It’s about to open its doors, and the world–at least those with the means to afford it–will be welcomed into a palace of opulence and unparalleled security. But someone is determined that Manderley will never open. The staff has no idea that their every move is being watched, and over the next twelve hours they will be killed off, one by one.

Writing in the tradition of Edgar Allan Poe and Stephen King, and with a deep bow to Daphne du Maurier, author Gina Wohlsdorf pairs narrative ingenuity and razor-wire prose with quick twists, sharp turns, and gasp-inducing terror. Security is grand guignol storytelling at its very best.

A shocking thriller, a brilliant narrative puzzle, and a multifaceted love story unlike any other, Security marks the debut of a fearless and gifted writer.

Rating: 4.5-stars

Review:

Security by Gina Wohlsdorf is an entertaining yet deadly mystery. It kept me guessing. The scenes where it was so obvious that someone did something that couldn’t be brushed off was overlooked. I wondered what would have happened, if the blood scenes were checked and inspected. How many times the hints of something darker were present yet ignored. The intrigue built with every page. Made me curious as a cat. Every moment a murder has been committed it’s been shrugged off by the sheer visibility due to a reasonable excuse of what it could have been. My questions were, wouldn’t a sane person look further into the blood scenes, who was injured, and how did it happen unnoticed? Yet the characters who noticed something did not take it further which added to the intensity of the severe situation. A murderer was loose and able to kill everyone without a single disturbance. Gina Wohlsdorf’s writing caught my eye and kept me reading. I love a good mystery and the frightening story of being watched by someone unknown was creepy as hell. Overall, I recommend this novel to all.

Review: A Life Removed





Synopsis:

Detectives Bruce Marklin and Jocelyn Beaudette have put plenty of criminals behind bars. But a new terror is stalking their city. The killer’s violent crimes are ritualistic but seemingly indiscriminate. As the death toll rises, the detectives must track a murderer without motive. The next kill could be anyone… maybe even one of their own.
Officer Aaron Pimental sees no hope for himself or humanity. His girlfriend is pulling away, and his best friend has found religion. When Aaron is thrust into the heart of the investigation, he must choose who he will become, the hero or the villain.
If Aaron doesn’t decide soon, the choice will be made for him. 

Rating: 5-stars

Review:

A Life Removed by Jason Parent is a thrilling criminal tale. Inside, readers will follow an investigation. Murder happening more than once. A former officer once good turns into a monster. With two of the best detectives following the evidence, it’s only time until Aaron Pimental’s life stops. The chase is exciting. The detectives, Bruce Marklin and Jocelyn Beaudette, are interesting to follow. A killer is loose and it will take time before they stop him. Death, danger, and intrigue are covered on every page. I enjoyed reading this novel. I look forward to reading more books by this talented writer. Overall, A Life Removed is one thriller I recommend to all. 

Review: When All The Girls Have Gone

When All The Girls Have Gone by [Krentz, Jayne Ann]

 

Synopsis:

When Charlotte Sawyer is unable to contact her stepsister, Jocelyn, to tell her that one of her closest friends was found dead, she discovers that Jocelyn has vanished.

Beautiful, brilliant—and reckless—Jocelyn has gone off the grid before, but never like this. In a desperate effort to find her, Charlotte joins forces with Max Cutler, a struggling PI who recently moved to Seattle after his previous career as a criminal profiler went down in flames—literally. Burned out, divorced and almost broke, Max needs the job.

After surviving a near-fatal attack, Charlotte and Max turn to Jocelyn’s closest friends, women in a Seattle-based online investment club, for answers. But what they find is chilling…

When her uneasy alliance with Max turns into a full-blown affair, Charlotte has no choice but to trust him with her life. For the shadows of Jocelyn’s past are threatening to consume her—and anyone else who gets in their way…

Rating: 5 stars

Review:

When All the Girls Have Gone by Jayne Ann Krentz is a cozy romantic mystery with a lot of humor. I have read a few of Jayne Ann Krentz’s novels, but this latest one hooked me. The characters were fascinating to watch in action. Their easy-going nature and troubles were interesting. They fit in together like a jigsaw puzzle. Both main characters had lived lives that changed them. Apparently, it seemed to change them both in a positive way. One escaped a fire and was adopted the other was dumped before her wedding and left with bills to pay off…both have issues. Real life issues.It was easy to connect with them on many levels. The way life pulls the rug from under their feet kind of theme also rings true in real life. I love how realistic everything played out inside this book. The PI investigator’s timing and knack for gut instincts in finding out stuff were incredible. Yet he seems to put doubt, in his gut, when it comes to a more personal reason. This causes him to wonder and it eats him alive. Anyone placed in this man’s shoes would have questions as well as doubts. Then, there’s the leading female character who believed in him. This sort of gave him a piece over his internal conflicts. Plus, the instant chemistry between the two satisfying. Two sisters are involved in a dangerous situation. One left thinking she was protecting her sister and friends. Turned out that she was wrong. Instead, she and her sister will be reunited under dire circumstances and it will be up to the PI investigator to get them both before it’s too late…When All the Girls Have Gone is an intriguing, suspenseful, yet wonderful journey. One that readers won’t resist. I loved reading it. Every page had some kind of action that intrigued me. Kept me turning those pages. When I reached the ending, I was very glad I read this book. Overall, Jayne Ann Krentz’s novel is a must read for all. I highly recommend it.

 

Review: Amelia’s Children

Amelia's Children by [Cribbs, Greta]

 

Synopsis:

In 1985 Amelia Davis is brutally murdered in the woods outside of Laurel Hill. Her killer is never caught. Thirty years later, David Jenson comes to town on what he calls “personal business”, though he won’t tell anyone what that business is. Could he have some connection to the town’s most infamous cold case?

Sarah Hathaway has just returned to her hometown in the wake of a failed acting career. When she meets David, she is immediately drawn to him. But it is the mystery of what exactly brought him to Laurel Hill that keeps her up at night. Determined to find the answer, she embarks on a journey into the unknown that will change her life forever. Along the way, she discovers truths about Amelia’s death that prove more sinister than anyone ever could have imagined.

Rating: 5 stars

Review:

Amelia’s Children by Greta Cribbs is a fascinating paranormal tale. I loved it from the beginning. Here, readers get involved in the investigation of a cold case murder. From there an unexpected stranger lures a woman into extreme curiosity. A murderer that was never caught…and things about the murder leave more questions than answers…

This novel was well-written. It was easy being sucked into its depth. The characters picked my curiosity as well as the murder mystery. Suspenseful, intense, and addictive to read. The journey was one that readers won’t be forgetting. It felt so real. The danger and paranormal activity were the perfect combinations for this book. Amelia’s Children is indeed an intriguing tale that has captivated me. I loved Greta Cribbs writing style. Her words carried me through her wonderful world of fiction. There isn’t anything better than when the past collides with the present. Overall, this book is highly recommended, to readers worldwide.

 

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: