Review: Pangaea (Saga of the Sun-slinger)

Synopsis:

“Every now and then a Ranger, near the end of his life or edge of her sanity, enters Lyonesse in a last-ditch effort to bring a small measure of hope to the hopeless.

Predictably, their life span is short and violent.”

Lyonesse exists a lawless city under constant siege by malicious crime lords. It is a nexus point between Pangaea’s underworld and its elite, delivering both the best and the worst Pangaea has to offer a broken people. No one, whether Highbourne or Low, whether mortal or High Immortal, can escape the city’s darkness once it takes hold.

In that darkness a young Cougar seeks to shine a small light by helping those less fortunate. And with some luck, atone for past sins committed out of inexperience.

Her protector; an Elf whose past has left him defeated and whose boss seeks only to keep them both under his heel.

A terrible accident can either set them both free or see them forever ensnared, or worse…dead.

Rating: 4-stars

Review:

Pangaea: Saga of the Sunslinger by Bolivar Beato is a fascinating book. Inside are pages full of myth, fantasy, and paranormal themes. Each page was pure magic, events, wars, and other things. Detailed, carefully planned, and entertaining. The book held a intense environment…breaking into more intense moments. This book is definitely for fans of Stars Wars, Star Trek, Lord of the Rings and Dark Rage. The characters are a variety of beings. I loved the mixture. Made every moment interesting. I was deeply intrigued by the scenes. The story is complex. I also enjoyed the dialogue between characters. There was some humor that made me feel like I was transported into the book. Bolivar Beato is a talented writer. Creating worlds that captured my attention and held it until the end.

Advertisements

Review: Bealtaine;Tales of the Fae

Bealtaine; Tales of the Fae by [Strycharz, Nicole]

 

Synopsis:

Shea Brogan the Earl of Glenn Haven has finally found a countess to share his life with. Though Maura, his widowed sister-in-law is of common blood, she and her young son Torin, his nephew has stolen his heart and his devotion. As their wedding rapidly approaches on the heels of the Sumer Solstice so does trouble. Glenn Haven comes alive in late spring with the thinning of the veil and now fairy folk and all matter of woodland creatures are causing both mischief and delight. Meanwhile, little Torin is harboring a secret. He’s discovered the gift of magic that ran through his father’s veins and yet rages through his Uncle Shea. These new abilities and sights come with the need of caution that the lad fights to tackle on his own; while his lovely mother still struggles to see the beauty of the unseen world. Maura has always wrestled with belief but her blind eye could drive a wedge between her and her beloved Earl before the upcoming nuptials. Especially when one particular being took a very special liking, to her. Is their love strong enough to overcome the challenge?

Rating: 5 stars

Review:

Nicole Strycharz has once again swept readers, like myself, into her latest novel.  This writer definitely knows how to bait, hook, and lure her readers. Instantly was intrigued following the main characters that I love from a previous book as their journey progressed. I was deeply satisfied with the plot. Especially, with the ending. Nicole Strycharz currently has me hooked onto her brilliant writing style. There’s plenty of sass, sweetness, and a seduction that sends readers into a frenzy. Once, readers open this book, they better prepare with the wanting of more reads by Nicole Strycharz in the future. I have been lucky as this writer has kept publishing more dazzling reads to keep me lured. Entertaining Bealtaine; Tales of the Fae brings a world of fantasy and one of love together. It will leave readers questioning whether magic is truly real or just a figment of our imagination. Excellent characterization as expected. After reading this book, I would love to have met each character in real life. Their troubles are so similar to our own it’s hard to believe they’re just fictional pieces created by a mastermind. The novel also brought the theme of family, hope, forgiveness, and a future full of promises. But danger and challenges are ahead for the characters…can love, conquer all? Overall, I highly recommend this Christmas and romance tale to all.

New Agent Looking for Submissions

I found this info on Writer’s Digest Website and I wanted to share it with you all!

 

About Genevieve Nine: Genevieve has had a lifelong love affair with books. Her tastes are eclectic, ranging from the classics to quirky. She’s drawn to the fantastic, the curious, and the unexpected. Genevieve is looking to represent authors who weave layered tales with well-developed worlds and characters who threaten to burst from the page. She appreciates smart and original plots with well-crafted twists. And no matter how zany or diabolical, every character should be undeniably human at heart. Follow Genevieve on Twitter (@GenevieveNine).

(11 literary agents share what NOT to write in your query letter.)

Genevieve joined Andrea Hurst Literary Management as an intern in 2012. She has a background in professional editing and gets great satisfaction from developing authors. She’s a Creative Writing MFA candidate at the Northwest Institute of Literary Arts, holds a Certificate in Children’s Writing from the University of Washington, and graduated with honors and a B.A. from the USC School of Cinema & Television. When not reading or writing, Genevieve enjoys watching her Sherlock DVDs, planning future travels, and embarking on culinary adventures. She and her husband live in Seattle with their two naughty cats, Selkie and Napoleon.

Within young adult and middle grade, she’s looking to acquire:

Fantasy (open to all subgenres except game-related)
ŸScience Fiction
ŸMystery
ŸHistorical Fiction
ŸRetellings (classics, fairy/folk tale, myth)
ŸContemporary Realism (especially with elements of humor)

She also represents the following adult and new adult categories:

ŸMystery (detective/PI, amateur, cozy, historical, comic, caper)
ŸThriller (supernatural, historical, disaster, ecological)
ŸGothic/Hauntings/Quiet Horror
ŸHistorical Fiction
ŸRetellings (classics, fairy/folk tale, myth)
ŸRomantic Comedy
ŸMagical Realism
ŸFood Memoir
ŸTravelogue/Travel Memoir

(The One Big Reason Some Blogs Succeed, While Others Crash and Burn.)

She is not seeking:

ŸHard SF/Military SF/Space Opera
ŸGraphic Horror
ŸErotica
ŸReligious Fiction/Nonfiction
ŸShort Stories

Submission Guidelines: querygenevieve@andreahurst.com. Email queries only. ŸNo attachments. ŸInclude “Query: Book Title” in the email’s subject line. ŸPaste the first ten pages of manuscript below your query. ŸPlease state if manuscript has been previously self-published. ŸPlease state if query is a multiple submission and inform Genevieve if the project becomes no longer available for representation.