Tag Archives: Mythology

Review: Pangaea (Saga of the Sun-slinger)

Synopsis:

“Every now and then a Ranger, near the end of his life or edge of her sanity, enters Lyonesse in a last-ditch effort to bring a small measure of hope to the hopeless.

Predictably, their life span is short and violent.”

Lyonesse exists a lawless city under constant siege by malicious crime lords. It is a nexus point between Pangaea’s underworld and its elite, delivering both the best and the worst Pangaea has to offer a broken people. No one, whether Highbourne or Low, whether mortal or High Immortal, can escape the city’s darkness once it takes hold.

In that darkness a young Cougar seeks to shine a small light by helping those less fortunate. And with some luck, atone for past sins committed out of inexperience.

Her protector; an Elf whose past has left him defeated and whose boss seeks only to keep them both under his heel.

A terrible accident can either set them both free or see them forever ensnared, or worse…dead.

Rating: 4-stars

Review:

Pangaea: Saga of the Sunslinger by Bolivar Beato is a fascinating book. Inside are pages full of myth, fantasy, and paranormal themes. Each page was pure magic, events, wars, and other things. Detailed, carefully planned, and entertaining. The book held a intense environment…breaking into more intense moments. This book is definitely for fans of Stars Wars, Star Trek, Lord of the Rings and Dark Rage. The characters are a variety of beings. I loved the mixture. Made every moment interesting. I was deeply intrigued by the scenes. The story is complex. I also enjoyed the dialogue between characters. There was some humor that made me feel like I was transported into the book. Bolivar Beato is a talented writer. Creating worlds that captured my attention and held it until the end.

Advertisements

Review: The Invisible Guardian

 

Synopsis:

Already a #1 international bestseller, this tautly written and gripping psychological thriller forces a police inspector to reluctantly return to her hometown in Basque Country—a place engulfed in mythology and superstition—to solve a series of eerie murders.

When the naked body of a teenage girl is found on a riverbank in Basque Country, Spain, homicide inspector Amaia Salazar must return to the hometown she always sought to escape. A dark secret from Amaia’s past plagues her with nightmares, and as her investigation deepens, the old pagan beliefs of the community threaten to derail her astute detective work. The lines between mythology and reality begin to blur, and Amaia must discover whether the crimes are the work of a ritualistic killer or of a mythical creature known as the Basajaun, the Invisible Guardian.

Torn between the rational procedures of her job and the local superstitions of a region shaped by the Spanish Inquisition, Amaia fights against the demons of her past in order to track down a killer on the run.

Rating: 5 stars

Review:

The Invisible Guardian by Dolores Redondo is one riveting novel. It holds the power to transport readers deep into unknown territory where danger, murder, and mythology all come tumbling out…but are the growing numbers of deaths caused by a myth or a serial killer at large? The scenes are so vivid that, a chill escapes down my spine as I follow the female investigator. So many have died. The leading investigator has her own demons to go through and then dealing with this kind of crime only heightens the suspense. Family, work, and death, are all related somehow…finding the answers won’t be easy.

The title of this masterfully woven novel comes from the myth called The Invisible Guardian. The people that live where the body count rises…blame The Invisible Guardian for all the bloodshed. But anyone who works in law knows myths don’t kill people. It only creates and spreads fear.  Dolores Redondo is an excellent writer. Her tale is very compelling and kept me guessing with every page. The story is about a community that finds itself in danger. Women’s bodies have been piling up…and no one knows who, how, or why. Soon, Amaia Salazar is asked to investigate te case. She’s the best investigator that they  have and it’s up to her to figure everything out before it escalates even more out of control. The ending definitely glued me to the edge of my seat…as the shocking news that the marks on one woman’s body match that with others that have been dead way before the serial killer was born. The human teeth marks on the dead bodies may or may not match their serial killer. The lure of who killed all those other women is now a leading question that leaves readers hanging in a cloud of suspense. I cannot wait for the next novel by this writer. Overall, I highly recommend this title to readers worldwide.