Review: Fault Lines 






Synopsis:

As a security expert, Charlie Hazard is all about taking control of the situation. But when the stunning Dr. Gabriella Speciale draws him into a secret psychological project, risk parameters are shattered. Every move brings him to the edge of one fault line after another, and Charlie struggles to stay clear of a maelstrom of entangled dangers. 

The research team abandons the lab on the Florida coast and flees to a mountain refuge in Italy. The battles in Charlie’s mind are overtaken by real life attacks. He must grapple with the daunting realization that a conspiracy is taking hold on both internal and external levels. Can Gabriella be trusted, or is she just part of the scheme? 

Leave behind your assumptions about the way the world works, and race along the unknown corridors of human consciousness in Fault Lines.

Rating: 5-stars

Review:

Fault Lines by Thomas Locke is fascinating thriller. Instantly, I was hooked. The story is about mind-shifting technology that one can destroy and another is fighting to keep alive. Danger, risks, and a mystery that propelled me from my chair into the book. The plot was well-developed and built up the intensity as the pages were flipped. Two main characters, Charlie and Gaberiella brought this tale to life. Charlie is in the line of protection duty while Gabriella is a psychologist who takes him deeper into a deadly scenario. My heart raced. The threats felt real. The novel reminded me of the fast-paced Bourne Series. Overall, I recommend this thrilling title to readers worldwide. 

Advertisements

Review: Watching Edie

Watching Edie by [Way, Camilla]

 

Synopsis:

For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train: A dazzling work of psychological suspense that weaves together the past and present of two women’s twisted friendship.
 
Beautiful, creative, a little wild… Edie was the kind of girl who immediately caused a stir when she walked into your life. And she had dreams back then—but it didn’t take long for her to learn that things don’t always turn out the way you want them to.

Now, at thirty-three, Edie is working as a waitress, pregnant and alone. And when she becomes overwhelmed by the needs of her new baby and sinks into a bleak despair, she thinks that there’s no one to turn to…

But someone’s been watching Edie, waiting for the chance to prove once again what a perfect friend she can be. It’s no coincidence that Heather shows up on Edie’s doorstep, just when Edie needs her the most. So much has passed between them—so much envy, longing, and betrayal. And Edie’s about to learn a new lesson: those who have hurt us deeply—or who we have hurt—never let us go, not entirely…

Rating: 5 stars

Review: 

Watching Edie by Camilla Way is a  psychological thriller that will have readers on the edge of their seats. The story captivates readers in a way that keeps them reading all night long. I felt the compelling tug dragging me to the last page. The scenes are filled with darkness and a fright that leaves readers’ hearts pounding fast. Edie and Heather are two friends that will keep readers constantly on their toes. I wasn’t sure which I wanted to do more…to scream or to run. Both girls presented in this novel, suffered badly. Each one dealing with an equally heavy load. One with guilt the other with an obession of the past. The loss, grief, and destruction of these two girls now women is one that hooks readers. It’s  sad to follow their stories to the end knowing something big will happen that will forever change both of their lives. As a reader, I kept hoping for the best for both. Fear and complexity of the friends situations is one not to be taken lightly. So much is at stake…a secret kept between both girls. Will the suffering finally end?

Camilla Way has brilliantly crafted a masterpiece. For fans, of  Girl in the Dark, Gone Girl, and Her Darkest Nightmare, this is a must read. Once you open this tale, it’s hard to put down. I found myself woven and lost between each girls’  terrifying events from their past. A past that still seems to be haunting them to the point of destruction. The plot is steady-paced. It switches back and forth from the girls’ past to their present moments. I think the switching has helped me to understand each character more deeply. I got a bigger insight as to who they were and are as an individual. Watching Edie is superb. I love dark reads with a heavy dose of suspense. The ending is one readers don’t want to miss. Overall, I highly recommend this novel to all.

 

Review: The Sisters

 

Synopsis: 

One lied. One died.

When one sister dies, the other must go to desperate lengths to survive

After a tragic accident, still haunted by her twin sister’s death, Abi is making a fresh start in Bath. But when she meets siblings Bea and Ben, she is quickly drawn into their privileged and unsettling circle.

When one sister lies, she must protect her secret at all costs

As Abi tries to keep up with the demands of her fickle friends, strange things start to happen – precious letters go missing and threatening messages are left in her room. Is this the work of the beautiful and capricious Bea? Or is Abi willing to go to any lengths to get attention?

When the truth outs, will either sister survive?

My Rating: 5 stars

My Review:

The Sisters by Claire Douglas is one outstanding novel. One that compels readers to keep turning the pages. Two sisters…one died and the other still lives. The sister that lives has her world turned upside down. Her way of surviving is seeing her sister’s similarities in other girls. Once she sees someone with dead sister’s qualities or personality she then attaches herself to that person. The only way to coping with her sister’s loss, Abi finds the tiniest things that remind her of her sister. In her mind she lets her sister live on…but she knows it’s not always good to do so. Readers will be caught breathless as they following Abi’s journey into surviving.

Claire Douglas is a talented writer whose world of fiction lures readers instantly. The world is so much like our own. Readers can easily connect with Abi and her loss. Her feelings automatically become the reader’s own emotions. The plot thickens as Abi sets herself up for failure, stress, and danger. So many what ifs and the suspense is high. The Sisters is a must read for all. The characters are so believable and the plot is fast-paced. Readers won’t know what really happening or going on until the ending. The lies told in this psychological thriller will keep readers, at the edge of their seats. This was the first novel, I have read by Claire Douglas. I loved reading her debut novel and look forward to reading more of her works in the future. It was absolutely thrilling. Overall, I highly recommend The Sisters to readers worldwide.

Book Review: The Burning Man by Solange Ritchie

The Burning Man is a debut novel by Solange Ritchie. This intriguing yet bone chilling masterpiece will lead readers on a dark, complex, and dangerous plot. The suspense burns hotter with every page.  Readers won’t get enough of the wild goose chase game that the killer decides to play with the detectives. Can they catch a killer before more bodies are mutilated and left for dead? Or will they serial killer get the best of them?

I highly recommend this thriller suspense to all. Shivers down your spine and edge of your seat intrigue will occur. Most of all there’s a serial killer loose and is taunting the detectives. A game of catch me if you can. The serial killer seriously mutilates his victims with gashes all over and carves messages into their bodies before leaving them to be seen. But that’s not all..the serial killer also uses a sulfuric acid that burns into the victims’ skin. A terrifying way to die. Soon a thirty-eight year old Dr. Cat Powers is brought onto the Burning Man case. She thinks with her forensic and behavioral science skills that she can out do the serial killer. But the real question is can she? Overall, I rate this The Burning Man by Solange Ritchie a five out of five stars.

Book Review: Dream Myself Alive by Brain Lovestar

Dream Myself Alive is a one of a kind paranormal read that will take readers away from reality and take them somewhere in between. Readers won’t know what is real and what isn’t at least not until the ending. A fantastic thriller unlike any I have ever read before. Brian Lovestar masterfully created a novel that lures readers deep into the unknown. At first, I thought I knew what was going on and then it was something that I didn’t expect it to be at all. Suspense, intrigue, and a romance all worth reading. This novel will keep readers up all night long.

Brain Lovestar’s brilliant paranormal romance with a twist of fantasy keeps your heart thumping, and your senses alive. A stunning tale of one man who loves a woman so much that is needs to be with her. He believes she is dead and mourns deeply of her lost. But is his world viewpoint real or just a piece of a dream that he created? Readers will be swept up in the story constantly turning the pages in a race to uncover the truth. I loved reading Dream Myself Alive. It is noting like anything I have read. Truly a masterpiece created by a genius. I highly recommend this fantasy to readers worldwide. You definitely do not want to miss out on this great read. Overall, I rate it a five out of five stars.