Review: Boy 9, Missing


Synopsis:

In the tradition of Defending Jacob or Drowning Ruth, this is a suspenseful debut that explores the ramifications of revenge, justice, and the aftermath of a terrible night in the lives of two families.

It should have been just a quiet evening with friends. But Francis lost his brother that night in what was ruled a tragic accident. He’s tried to move on in the last twenty-three years, even though his father certainly hasn’t. Indeed, his father still blames the lone witness, Sam, the nine-year-old son of friends. Perhaps if Sam would have just said something, anything, about what happened that night, but Sam still seems unable-or unwilling-to utter a word about the accident.

And now, twenty-three years later, Sam’s own nine-year-old son has disappeared.

Rating: 5-stars

Review

Boy 9, Missing by Nic Joseph is a psychological suspense novel, all readers won’t forget. The death that haunts the family within is one of the most realistic tellings I have ever read. An older brother can’t move past his younger brother’s death. Since that day, he has needed therapy of all kinds. He can’t move forward. Like the weight and unknown truth of what happened that night keeps haunting him. It’sad to see a family torn both physically and emotionally like this one presented here. A witness, annother young boy, has never once told the truth of what he saw that night on how his friend died. The mystery has surrounded that place until the last page…where all hell breaks loose and the truth may just come out after all. Nic Joseph created a thriller that was stunning, well-developed, and intriguing from the start. It sent chills down my back and tears down my cheeks. Who knew the killer was closer than the family thought. Anger, sex, psychological trauma and another young boy missing…keeps reading turning the pages. I couldn’t stop reading it. I had to know the truthjust like the main character, Francis. Boy 9, Missing is one novel that I highly recommend to all readers. 

Advertisements

No Words Just Silence-poem

No words just silence,

piercing through the night.

our minds far from communication,

but our movemnets are communicating all on their own

what words couldn’t say,

just one touch,

 was all it took

to ignite feelings so deep, so fresh, so innocent

that our lips failed to say,

what we were feeling,

yet, it didn’t stop us from other ways of communication,

Sometimes one could see us shaking so hard from laughter,

 but not a sound escaped from our vocals,

no words, just silence

our hands entwined

and our smiles growing wider yet no words , just silence

piercing our night.