Review: The Christmas Sisters by Sarah Morgan

        Synopsis: In the snowy Highlands of Scotland, Suzanne McBride is dreaming of the perfect cozy Christmas. Her three adopted daughters are coming home for the holidays and she can’t wait to see them. But tensions are running high… Workaholic Hannah knows she can’t avoid spending the holidays with her family two... Continue Reading →

Review: Artania

Synopsis: Eleven-year-old Bartholomew Borax III can’t go to school, play outside or worst of all, make art... so he sketches in secret. After he meets the skateboarding painter, Alexander DeVinci, they're yanked into another realm by a magical painting. Their own world is nothing in comparison to Artania: a world with living paintings and sculptures.... Continue Reading →

Review: Beyond Our Degrees of Separation 

Synopsis: A narrative weave of testimonial non-fiction by Judith Ravin and Muhammad Hassan Miraj, Beyond Our Degrees of Separation evokes points of intersection between the United States and Pakistan. Hailing from oxymoronic bureaucracies, the co-authors transcend their respective realms of diplomacy and the military to reaffirm commonalities beyond differences. The alternating narratives trace their real-life... Continue Reading →

Review: Nazi Saboteurs on the Bayou 

Synopsis: Nazi Saboteurs on the Bayou intertwines historic persons, actual events and distant locales of World War II with a fast-moving fictional Nazi plot to disrupt the manufacture of Higgins boats, the remarkable landing craft that won the war for the Allies. Spanning the globe from amphibious landings at Guadalcanal, to the Navajo code talker... Continue Reading →

Review: Scot of My Dreams

Synopsis: In Janice Maynard's sweet and sexy new series, three childhood friends with a shared passion for the Outlander novels and TV show decide to travel to Scotland looking for adventure-and their very own Highland heroes...It's a dream come true for schoolteacher Hayley Smith. No homework to grade, no students to corral, no social media,... Continue Reading →

Review: Yesterday’s Moments…Today’s Memories

Synopsis:  YESTERDAY’S MOMENTS… Today’s Memories is the third in David Turner’s nostalgic trilogy depicting rural and small-town life in Canada during the last century. “From as far back as I could recall,” Turner says, “I’d been listening to the stories passed down through generations of my family. As the years went by, an unrelenting passion... Continue Reading →

Review: Kitty Hawk & The Hunt for Hemingway’s Ghost

  Synopsis: Kitty Hawk and the Hunt for Hemingway's Ghost is the exciting second installment in a new series of adventure mystery stories that are one part travel, one part history and five parts adventure. This second book in the series continues the adventures of Kitty Hawk, an intrepid teenage pilot who has decided to follow... Continue Reading →

Review: The Meteorite Chronicles (Earth Under)

Synopsis: A well-traveled young adventurer and a successful, determined meteorite hunter, Bryce has been obsessed since childhood with the magical allure of space rocks. This mission provides him with all the facets of life that he is most drawn to: global travel, meeting new people, adventure, discovery, and the hunt. In a dust-covered desert village... Continue Reading →

Review: A Portrait of Emily Price  

Synopsis: Art restorer Emily Price has never encountered anything she can’t fix—until she meets Ben, an Italian chef, who seems just right. But when Emily follows Ben home to Italy, she learns that his family is another matter . . . Emily Price—fix-it girl extraordinaire and would-be artist—dreams of having a gallery show of her... Continue Reading →

Review: Supernova

  Synopsis: C. A. Higgins’s acclaimed novel Lightless fused suspenseful storytelling, high-caliber scientific speculation, and richly developed characters into a stunning science fiction epic. Now the dazzling Supernova heightens the thrills and deepens the haunting exploration of technology and humanity—and the consequences that await when the two intersect. Once Ananke was an experimental military spacecraft.... Continue Reading →

Review: The Curse of The Bridal Chamber

  Synopsis: The indomitable senior sleuth Imogene and her outrageously endearing Alabama family find themselves in hot water while on a family vacation at a mermaid convention in sunny Florida. When Imogene and her brood, including Goose the bulldog, encounter a dead body floating in the freshwater springs beneath their glass-bottom boat, the local police... Continue Reading →

Review: Deborah Rising

  Synopsis: Set in ancient Israel, Deborah Rising (HarperCollins, 2016) portrays the dramatic (and unlikely) rise of the first woman to lead a nation in recorded human history. In the tradition of The Red Tent, The Fifth Mountain, and The Mists of Avalon, this absorbing novel delivers an inspiring story of suspense and adventure in pursuit of freedom and self-determination, starring... Continue Reading →

Review: After Party (Poems)

  Synopsis: Jana Prikryl’s The After Party journeys across borders and eras, from cold war Central Europe to present-day New York City, from ancient Rome to New World suburbs, constantly testing the lingua francas we negotiate to know ourselves. These poems disclose the tensions in our inherited identities and showcase Prikryl’s ambitious experimentation with style.... Continue Reading →

Review: The X Cure

  Synopsis: Dr. Alex Winter, a brilliant biomedical engineer, teams with Dr. Xiu Ling, a beautiful Chinese scientist, to discover a revolutionary cure for cancer. But Tando Pharmaceuticals, the world’s largest and richest drug producer, also has an interest in the cure, and when they discover that the treatment is flawed as recipients begin to... Continue Reading →

Review: House of Curds (3 & 4)

  Synopsis: The zany saga of Frank and Clear Underwire continues. Rating: 5 stars Review: House of Curds by Richard M. Fleegle season begins! Here readers brought into a two-volume book containing seasons three and four. The book for those unfamiliar with House of Cards (Netflix show) is a political satire. Hilariously entertaining as well as... Continue Reading →

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: