Tag Archives: twists & turns

Review: Look for Her by Emily Winslow

Look For Her (Keene and Frohmann, #4)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Synopsis:

Everyone loves a beautiful missing girl… a gripping psychological thriller that delves into the grief, jealousy, and unresolved mystery surrounding a cold case kidnapping, in the vein of Gilly MacMillan and Mary Kubica.

Just outside of Cambridge, Lilling seems like an unassuming idyllic English village, but it’s home to a dark history. In 1976, a teenage girl named Annalise Wood disappeared while riding her bike home from school. Though her body was later discovered in a shallow grave, the culprit was never found. Decades later, Annalise maintains a perverse kind of celebrity in the small town, and is still the focus of grief, speculation, and for one young woman, a disturbing, escalating jealousy.

When DNA linked to the Annalise murder unexpectedly surfaces, cold case investigator Morris Keene realizes he may now have the chance of his career. Morris and his former partner, Chloe Frohmann, hope to finally solve this perplexing mystery, and bring closure to a traumatized community. But the new evidence that should be the simple solution instead undoes the case’s only certainty: the buried body that had long ago been confidently identified as Annalise may be someone else entirely, and instead of answers, the investigators face only new puzzles.

Whose body was unearthed all those years ago, and what happened to the real Annalise? Could she have had a secret child? Is someone interfering with the investigation? And is there a link to a present-day drowning with eerie connections?

With piercing insight and fascinating twists, Emily Winslow explores the dark side of sensationalized crime in this haunting psychological thriller.

Rating: 4-stars

Review:

Look for Her by Emily Winslow is a living nightmare. One young girl disappears and her cold case connects to a newer one. I found it intriguing. So many questions popped up in how they were connected, who dun it, and etc. Emily Winslow has a way of capturing my interest with every page. Twists and turns kept me guessing the whole way. This novel was definitely a psychological thriller but more of a mystery. The psychological part is where the missing Annalise girl and another by the same name come into play. One is completely crazy…but there’s a story behind that as well. A story within another story. This kept up the edgy vibe and fear factor. The fact that a doctor was easily chilled by her patient, Annalise made goosebumps appear on my arms.

A call comes in…

“I have so much to say next time I see you…” says Annalise.

Then just silence…the sound of the patient breathing on the other end…handing onto the call.

The doctor was the same age as the Annalise girl that went missing years ago.

That only made me more curious. Overall, a great plot worth reading.

Advertisements

Review: Angel Diaries

 

Synopsis:

He was forbidden. Uncontrollable. Never to be seen, mentioned, or otherwise talked about. Until the nightmares began. Searing the screams, carnage and death into her skull. Forever.

Before this, Lindsey had a normal life. Somewhat. She had a boyfriend who was acting strange, an ex-boyfriend who has been too flirtatious and a best friend who turned psychic.

Once upon a time, the hardest decision Lindsey had to make was who she would take to the upcoming Winter Dance: her boyfriend, Philip, or her ex, Luke. Now, she’s not even human. She’s an Angel.

Rating: 5 stars

Review:

The Angel Diaries by Larissa Hinton is one paranormal YA novel that will leave readers breathless and excited for the next novel. Suspense and danger hang on every page. Readers are lured deeply into the fast-paced plot that is full of action and heat. Young teens in love, is enough, to heat up the pages. Their love is raw, innocent, and full of power. A power of good versus evil. One young girl’s heart belongs to two different teen boys. An ex-boyfriend who can instantly make her feel good at the drop of a hat and know how to make her happy and then, there’s her new boyfriend who she thought she loved and wanted to go all the way with…but something happens that causes her to leave one guy behind and to begin a life with the other. Surprises are abundant in this intoxicating tale. Lindsey will find out something about her and her mom and even who her father is…secrets kept for a reason and then, there are the haunting dreams that will send shivers down any reader’s spine. I absolutely loved reading The Angel Diaries by Larissa Hinton. Her talent is strongly evident with every page turned and every character introduced. Overall, I highly recommend this YA title to readers everywhere.

 

Review: The Living Miracle

 

Synopsis:

Is Izanagi Okamura a monster or just a man afraid to die?

There is a new world without God, sorrow or love for others, only self. One man attempts to control life. Another tries to reintroduce it.

Hiroto Okamura is given a doll, L4-13354, for his birthday. He quickly discovers that she is special. Together, they struggle to hide her secret until it is time to reveal her true existence.

A greedy perfect world; the choice between morality and covetousness; and the created life that will change everything.

This story takes Hiroto on a journey through life, love, passion, death and spiritual growth. The devotion these two innocent children share is both pure and enduring as they fight to remain together. Follow them as they travel the world telling their story and restoring the Christian faith.

Rating: 5 stars

Review:

The Living Miracle by Donna D. Vaal is truly in inspiration to many. The novel explores so many sides of life and shows that hope, love, and God do truly exist. You can be a nonbeliever and find this story comforting. I definitely did. Readers will laugh, cry, and fall in love with the main characters. Brilliantly well-written by Donna D. Vaal is a Christian tale the combines a few genres into one amazing masterpiece.

Inside this emotionally moving story, readers will notice that science fiction and Christian fiction were combined in making this come alive.  The characters both robotic like and real pop off the pages with every word. A young boy like others his age receives a toy that obeys their command until they’re eighteen.Then, they are destroyed. On his fifth birthday, Hiroto receives his toy. A toy that turns out to be a girl. Hiroto turns out to be more humane than the rest of his people and soon fate places him and his toy into a life of an adventure. A friendship that grows into more as they age and a secret that could destroy and take away what they have…then Hiroto learns from his grandfather who turns out to be his father about his life and the life of his toy…Readers will be kept lured in as the story continues and suspense will hang in the air as they race to finish reading the book.  Donna D. Vaal has taken an entertaining and complex way to bring the message that God exists to readers. The ending is just as great as the beginning and  middle. I loved reading The Miracle and look forward to reading the next book written by Donna D. Vaal. Overall, I highly recommend this stunning read to readers worldwide.

Review: Can You Keep A Secret?

 

Synopsis:

R.L. Stine has built his legacy on scaring children and teenagers. Now he’s back with another spine-tingling tale of horror in this new Fear Street book about temptation, betrayal, and fear.

Eddie and Emma are high school sweethearts from the wrong side of the tracks. Looking for an escape their dreary lives, they embark on an overnight camping trip in the Fear Street Woods with four friends. As Eddie is carving a heart into a tree, he and Emma discover a bag hidden in the trunk. A bag filled with hundred-dollar bills. Thousands of them. Should they take it? Should they leave the money there? The six teens agree to leave the bag where it is until it’s safe to use it. But when tragedy strikes Emma’s family, the temptation to skim some money off of the top becomes impossible to fight. There’s only one problem. When Emma returns to the woods, the bag of money is gone, and with it, the trust of six friends with a big secret.

Packed with tension and sure to elicit shivers in its readers, this new Fear Street book is another terrifying tale from a master of horror.

Rating: 5 stars

Review:

It has been a long time since I have read R.L. Stine’s novels. So, when I saw an opportunity to read this one I grabbed it. I wasn’t disappointed that I did. R.L. Stine has always been known for writing the most fearful edge of your seat novels. I loved his books for kids and I surely fell in love with this one for adults. Can You Keep A Secret? is just as dark, scary, and intense as all of the previous novels by this talented writer. Readers will be lost in the words with the characters and taken on a suspenseful nightmare as the plot unfolds.

Can You Keep A Secret? by R.L. Stine keeps readers wondering which of the friends took the bag of money that only two found. As an unforeseen conflict arises, Emma finds herself wanting to take the money to help her family. However, the money is gone…and with it is readers guess as to who and why. This novel is full of secrets, horror, and twists and turns. Especially at the ending, readers will find several surprises waiting in store for them. R.L. Stine brilliantly wraps the conclusion of the entire story and then leaves readers with a sense as to what happened next? Temptation, fear, and betrayal are deep roots of this stunning read. Death, danger, and the truth will keep readers turning the pages in a race to figure it all out…but sometimes, we don’t see it until it’s told to us or seen with our very own eyes…just like with Emma, Eddie, and her other friends.