Tag Archives: witness

Review: Look for Her by Emily Winslow

Look For Her (Keene and Frohmann, #4)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Synopsis:

Everyone loves a beautiful missing girl… a gripping psychological thriller that delves into the grief, jealousy, and unresolved mystery surrounding a cold case kidnapping, in the vein of Gilly MacMillan and Mary Kubica.

Just outside of Cambridge, Lilling seems like an unassuming idyllic English village, but it’s home to a dark history. In 1976, a teenage girl named Annalise Wood disappeared while riding her bike home from school. Though her body was later discovered in a shallow grave, the culprit was never found. Decades later, Annalise maintains a perverse kind of celebrity in the small town, and is still the focus of grief, speculation, and for one young woman, a disturbing, escalating jealousy.

When DNA linked to the Annalise murder unexpectedly surfaces, cold case investigator Morris Keene realizes he may now have the chance of his career. Morris and his former partner, Chloe Frohmann, hope to finally solve this perplexing mystery, and bring closure to a traumatized community. But the new evidence that should be the simple solution instead undoes the case’s only certainty: the buried body that had long ago been confidently identified as Annalise may be someone else entirely, and instead of answers, the investigators face only new puzzles.

Whose body was unearthed all those years ago, and what happened to the real Annalise? Could she have had a secret child? Is someone interfering with the investigation? And is there a link to a present-day drowning with eerie connections?

With piercing insight and fascinating twists, Emily Winslow explores the dark side of sensationalized crime in this haunting psychological thriller.

Rating: 4-stars

Review:

Look for Her by Emily Winslow is a living nightmare. One young girl disappears and her cold case connects to a newer one. I found it intriguing. So many questions popped up in how they were connected, who dun it, and etc. Emily Winslow has a way of capturing my interest with every page. Twists and turns kept me guessing the whole way. This novel was definitely a psychological thriller but more of a mystery. The psychological part is where the missing Annalise girl and another by the same name come into play. One is completely crazy…but there’s a story behind that as well. A story within another story. This kept up the edgy vibe and fear factor. The fact that a doctor was easily chilled by her patient, Annalise made goosebumps appear on my arms.

A call comes in…

“I have so much to say next time I see you…” says Annalise.

Then just silence…the sound of the patient breathing on the other end…handing onto the call.

The doctor was the same age as the Annalise girl that went missing years ago.

That only made me more curious. Overall, a great plot worth reading.

Advertisements

Review: Dark Deception


Synopsis:
New Edge-of-Your-Seat Read from an Established Romantic Suspense Author 

Kate O’Brien has been leading a quiet life in small-town Shelter Cove, Arkansas, for the past four years when her past suddenly comes roaring back to life. Four years ago, she and her twin sister were attacked by an elusive serial killer. Only Kate survived, and it was her drawing of the attacker–along with some last-minute evidence–that convicted the suspect. 

She’s been in witness protection ever since, but new evidence suggests the convicted man isn’t the murderer and she’s been subpoenaed to testify in the new trial. Nervous about the risk, she’ll only agree if the same marshal who protected her during the original trial escorts her to St. Louis. 

Deputy U.S. Marshal Tony DeLuca accepts the assignment to bring Kate to the trial, remembering how her strength impressed him. While in Shelter Cove, however, he gets a call from his chief, advising them to stay in Shelter Cove until a new development in the case can be straightened out. But when Kate’s safety is threatened, Tony must race against the clock to keep her alive and put this ugly case to rest before anyone else gets killed. 

Rating: 5-stars

Review:

Dark Deception by Nancy Mehl is an interesting romantic suspense. I enjoyed following a woman whose life turns upside down once again. Her past is colliding with the present.  A murderer is on the loose and she’s a witness. Yet, as she is being called to testify once more, danger lingers in the air. 

Every page is full of suspense. Intriguing story. One man mistaken as the killer. An innocent’s life is in jeopardy and it’s up to one man to save her. Tony is attracted to Kate. He takes his job of protecting her full blast when danger strikes. Deadly, stunning, and cleverly written. Dark Deception fits this book well. It covers the novel perfectly. I was hooked. Some romance, tons of action, and heart racing moments. The pages flew by fast. The plot is well-developed. Nancy Mehl has lured me into her fiction once again. Overall, I recommend this to readers everywhere. 

Review: The Candidate by Lis Wiehl

 

Synopsis:

How far will a candidate go to become president? Erica Sparks—America’s top-rated cable news host—is about to find out.

Mike Ortiz is a dynamic war hero favored to win the White House. Standing by his side is his glamorous and adoring wife, Celeste. But something about this seemingly perfect couple troubles Erica. Is Celeste really who she seems? And most importantly, what really happened in that squalid Al-Qaeda prison where Mike Ortiz spent nine months?

But more than the nation’s future is at stake. Erica’s relentless search for the truth puts the life of her preteen daughter Jenny in danger, even as Erica’s own dark past threatens to overtake her.

In her latest Newsmakers thriller, NewYork Times bestselling author and Fox News legal analyst Lis Wiehl weaves a taut and chilling story. The Candidate is packed with political intrigue and media manipulation as the lust for power turns deadly indeed.

Rating: 5 stars

Review:

The Candidate by Lis Wiehl is the latest new novel in the Newsmakers series. Lis Wiehl couldn’t have planned her novel better… in time when the presidential campaigns are happening. No one trusts the government. Exactly what one would do to become the next president is a dark thought. With the technology of today and money made available, anything can happen. My thoughts were running back and forth like crazy. The suspense killing me. I had to read this new novel. Then, take the interesting yet peculiar couple that is trying to win seats in the White House. Both persons are a mystery. Where their intentions really lay is a question for Erica Sparks to solve. But with any kind of digging like this can bring a danger Erica never wanted. The danger that could come after, the one she loves the most…her daughter. The Candidate is a political thriller that will lure all readers in like a magnet. I was captivated, intrigued, and hooked. Lis Wiehl’s writing is one that entertains and drags readers deep into her worlds of fiction. Killings, witnessing, and an investigation that sent my heart racing. Family life is complicated but as much as Erica Sparks. She is the main character that proves to be a strong heroine. Overall, I recommend this new read to readers everywhere.