Review: The Last Second

        Synopsis: From New York Times bestselling authors Catherine Coulter and J.T. Ellison comes a riveting thriller pitting special agents Nicholas Drummond and Michaela Caine against a private French space agency that has the power to end the world as we know it. Galactus, France’s answer to SpaceX, has just launched a communications satellite... Continue Reading →

Review: The Governess Game by Tessa Dare

            Synopsis: The second unforgettable novel in USA Today bestselling author Tessa Dare’s Girl Meets Duke series. He’s been a bad, bad rake—and it takes a governess to teach him a lesson. The accidental governess... After her livelihood slips through her fingers, Alexandra Mountbatten takes on an impossible post: transforming a pair... Continue Reading →

Review: All We Ever Wanted was Everything by Janelle Brown

            Synopsis: A smart, comic page-turner about a Silicon Valley family in free fall over the course of one eventful summer. When Paul Miller’s pharmaceutical company goes public, making his family IPO millionaires, his wife, Janice, is sure this is the windfall she’s been waiting years for — until she... Continue Reading →

Review: The Atomic City Girls by Janet Beard

        Synopsis: In the bestselling tradition of Hidden Figures and The Wives of Los Alamos, comes a riveting novel of the everyday women who worked on the Manhattan Project during World War II “What you see here, what you hear here, what you do here, let it stay here.” In November 1944, eighteen-year-old June Walker... Continue Reading →

Review: Entwined Hearts-The Sunset of Alzheimer’s Disease and More of Life’s Realities

                Synopsis: As author JJ Janice reflects on her surprise connection with a mother-daughter duo, she finds herself, an outsider, overwhelmed by mysteries regarding the short time it took for her to become a new member in this tight-knit family with a complicated past. How did she get... Continue Reading →

Review: The Rejected Writer’s Christmas Wedding

Synopsis: Southlea Bay's favorite sweethearts, Flora and Dan, are getting married and the members of the Rejected Writers' Book Club are excited to help. Especially the group's head honcho, Doris Newberry, who, much to Flora’s frustration, wants to control every detail, attempting to strong-arm Flora into accepting ridiculous wedding vows, wayward bongo players and into... Continue Reading →

Review: Woman Enters Left 

Synopsis: A woman sets out on a cross-country road trip, unknowingly tracing in reverse the path her mother traveled thirty years before. In the 1950s, movie star Louise Wilde is caught between an unfulfilling acting career and a shaky marriage when she receives an out-of-the-blue phone call: She has inherited the estate of Florence “Florrie”... Continue Reading →

Review: Between Lost and Found

Synopsis: Janelle Marshall's life is finally going according to plan. Her perfect, upscale career--and her perfect, successful boyfriend--will make her future as secure and predictable as her childhood never was. And with luck, Little Bill, the grandfather who raised her will someday understand why she'd rather play it safe than be impulsive. But just when... Continue Reading →

Review: Bold Love (A Letter To My Young Sisters)

Synopsis: Bold Love: A Letter to My Young Sisters is a love letter full of personal experiences, science and deliberate encouragement to help one move through the challenges related to self-esteem, absent relationships and racial challenges. This body of work is written through the eyes of the writer as if she were her younger self.... Continue Reading →

Review: Madame President 

Synopsis: The harrowing, but triumphant story of Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, leader of the Liberian women’s movement, winner of the Nobel Peace Prize, and the first democratically elected female president in African history. When Ellen Johnson Sirleaf won the 2005 Liberian presidential election, she demolished a barrier few thought possible, obliterating centuries of patriarchal rule to... Continue Reading →

Review: Deborah Rising

  Synopsis: Set in ancient Israel, Deborah Rising (HarperCollins, 2016) portrays the dramatic (and unlikely) rise of the first woman to lead a nation in recorded human history. In the tradition of The Red Tent, The Fifth Mountain, and The Mists of Avalon, this absorbing novel delivers an inspiring story of suspense and adventure in pursuit of freedom and self-determination, starring... Continue Reading →

Review: When All The Girls Have Gone

  Synopsis: When Charlotte Sawyer is unable to contact her stepsister, Jocelyn, to tell her that one of her closest friends was found dead, she discovers that Jocelyn has vanished. Beautiful, brilliant—and reckless—Jocelyn has gone off the grid before, but never like this. In a desperate effort to find her, Charlotte joins forces with Max... Continue Reading →

Review: Behave

  Synopsis: “The mother begins to destroy the child the moment it's born,” wrote the founder of behaviorist psychology, John B. Watson, whose 1928 parenting guide was revered as the child-rearing bible. For their dangerous and “mawkish” impulses to kiss and hug their child, “most mothers should be indicted for psychological murder.” Behave is the... Continue Reading →

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: